Monday’s Reading Loot

All I can say is this is the reason why I’m banning myself from buying books until July.

Here’s what I received in the mail:

zaleski20081gilmourhemon1eggers

beagle2

The Best American Spiritual Writing 2008. This year the guest editor is Jimmy Carter.

The Film Club by David Gilmour. (Memoir)A father let his failing son drop out of high school as long as he agrees to watch three movies with him.

The Lazarus Project by Aleksander Hemon. Fictional account of the shooting of Jewish immigrant, Lazarus Averbuch in 1908.

The Best American Nonrequired Reading 2008. Knowing that this year’s guess editor is Judy Blume was enough to get me to buy it.

We Never Talk About My Brother by Peter S. Beagle. It’s Chris and Nymeth’s faults that I bought this! I can’t wait to read it. I might wait until the read-a-thon.

This is what I received from the library:

medleybuncebuzbeemurphy

schaeferdatlowbeagle1matthiessen

martin-jrpattouphillips-j

Castle Waiting by Linda Medley. The introduction by Jane Yolen was enough to make me check it out.

A Curse Dark as Gold by Elizabeth C. Bunce. Retelling of Rumpelstiltskin.

The Yellow-Lighted Bookshop by Lewis Buzbee. Nymeth’s review did it.

Bird by Rita Murphy. More fantasy about a young girl trying to figure out where she came from (literally).

Teashop Girls by Laura Schaffer. I read a review at Beth Fish Reads and put it on hold at my library.

Black Swan, White Raven: short stories edited by Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling. I read “Godmother Death” by Jane Yolen online and decided to check the rest of this short story collection out.

A Fine and Private Place by Peter S. Beagle. According to Chris this is a novel that “speaks volumes on the precious and semi-permanent thing that is life.”

Shadow Country by Peter Matthiessen. In the Tournament of Books hosted by Morning News, Shadow Country went head-to-head with The Lazarus Project and won.  It’s been called a masterpiece and at more than 800 pages long, it’s going to take me a while to finish it.

Bill Martin Jr.’s Big Book of Poetry. Just published, I checked this book out for me. If the kids like it great, but I want it for my own. So far the poems of Christina Rossetti are my favorite.

East by Edith Pattou. Nymeth again.

Lark and Termite by Jayne Anne Phillips. I read a great review about this book in Bookmarks Magazine, so now it’s on my nightstand.

Not shown is Drood and volumes 6-11 of the Fables series. Do you see what kind of mood I’m in? Hopefully I can read all of this within the next month or so.

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Library Loot, Mailbox Mondays, meme.. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Monday’s Reading Loot

  1. Carrie K. says:

    I have had my eye on The Best American Nonrequired Reading for a while – I can’t wait to hear what you think!

    The Yellow-Lighted Bookshop is wonderful – I loved it.

    • Vasilly says:

      When I finish reading it, I’ll be sure to send it your way! I can’t wait to read The YLB.

  2. Chris says:

    You have such great taste in books! I am so thrilled to see the two Beagle books on your list! A Fine and Private Place is one that instantly went on my favorites of all time list. Amazing book. And I’m really enjoying We Never Talk About My Brother and I’m only 3 stories in!

    I’m dying to get my hands on East! I’ll have to do that soon! Enjoy your reading! I know what you mean about going on a book buying ban…I just posted 20 books for the week myself :p

    • Vasilly says:

      Thanks, Chris! I’m stealing my taste from you. I can’t wait to read Beagle! I might save him for the read-a-thon. East is the best! I just started it last night and ended up staying up until one in the morning.

      I’ve already added your books to my TBR list!

  3. Kailana says:

    That’s a lot of good books! We all know how much I love Fables… I really liked East, The Yellow-Lighted Bookshop, and Castle Waiting!

    • Vasilly says:

      I was trying to remember how I found out about Castle Waiting. Maybe it was you! Thank you!

  4. Beth F says:

    Hope you like Teashop Girls as much as I did.

  5. vivienne says:

    Quick where is my pen and TBR pad! You have some lovely books on here, that I now want to read. I like the look of The Tea Shop Girls, The Yellow Lighted Bookshop, East ( which i am thinking is a followup to North Child, which I still haven’t read). I could go on for ages!

    • Vasilly says:

      Isn’t the cover of Tea Shop Girls cute? I can’t wait to read it. I’m putting North Child on my list!

  6. Yvonne says:

    Great haul this week! I’ve tried banning myself from adding new books, but I never succeed.

    • Vasilly says:

      Thanks! Hopefully I won’t buy any books until July. I really need to make a dent in the books I have.

  7. claire says:

    Great haul, Vassily! I’ve a few of those on my radar: The Yellow-Lighted Bookshop, The Lazarus Project, Shadow Country, and Lark & Termite. Enjoy your reads, and yeah, I can definitely see what you mean about not buying more books for the moment.😀

    • Vasilly says:

      I know! Isn’t it bad? But I hope to read every single one before I have to return them.

  8. great list of books. I have the Fine private place by beagle in the TBR pile. I think the cover of his other book in this list is gorgeous. happy reading.
    here’s my mailbox:

    http://savvyverseandwit.blogspot.com/2009/03/mailbox-monday-23.html

    • Vasilly says:

      Thanks! I heard so many great things about Beagle that I had to pick it up. Next will be Charles de Lint.

  9. Kristen says:

    Good heavens you have quite a lot there! Good reading ahead of you though.🙂

  10. Wendy says:

    Wow, you got a lot of books this week! Look at that Library haul!!!

  11. Wendi B says:

    The Film Club actually sounds very interesting – I’d love to hear how that one turns out.

    Here’s my Mailbox! ~ Wendi

  12. iliana says:

    Ooh I’ve never checked out those Best Non-Required Reading books but knowing Judy Blume is the editor makes me put this one on my list.

    Good luck with your ban on book buying! That’s gotta be hard.

  13. Nymeth says:

    Excellent loot! A Fine and Private Place, East, Castle Waiting, The Yellow-Lighted Bookshop…I hope you love them all as much as I did😀

    A Curse As Dark as Gold is one I really want to read too.

  14. Terri B. says:

    I haven’t actually banned myself from the bookstore yet, but I do occasionally show some restraint. I still haven’t managed to increase the number of books going out to books coming in. Sigh.

    You’ve got some quite good titles there! Nymeth got me on the Peter S. Beagle bandwagon too. I do so want to read the one you’ve listed here. I’ve got The Yellow-Lighted Bookshop and have read a few chapters. I’m enjoying it. And East was one of my favorite YA books read last year. I hope you like it.

    • Vasilly says:

      I loved East! I started it yesterday and read it late into the night! What a great book! I can’t believe that I’m just hearing about it. Thanks for visiting my little blog!

  15. Juliann says:

    I have a number of the Spiritual Writing volumes that I have picked up at the half price book store and I am definately going to look for Bill Martin’s poetry book. I also picked up Life is a Verb today. I am really enjoying your blog.

    • Vasilly says:

      Thanks, Juliann! I hope you enjoy Life is a verb. It’s a great read. Bill Martin’s poetry book is great! I’m really enjoying the poems in it. Happy readings to you!

  16. Alyce says:

    The Lazarus Project and We Never Talk About My Brother both sound like really good books!

    Here’s my post.

  17. Marcia says:

    Thank you for stopping by the mailbox this week. I’ve had ‘The Film Club’ on my wish list for a while now.

Comments are closed.