37 Days Challenge

37days challenge
March 27 – May 3, 2009

I, Vasilly, being of kinda sound mind and body, have willingly decided to try to do one thing consistently every single day for the next 37 days. C’mon, self, it’s just 37 days. The one thing I will try to do every day is this:

Pay attention. Pay attention to the world around me and stop living so much in my head. By looking around more and noticing what I have and what others need, I can become a better partner to the world.

I’m not going to pick two things or nine things because that will dilute my focus –- just one thing. One. One simple action. An action, not a goal. An action, not a value. An action, not a wish. Something I can DO.

I’m doing this challenge at this time because:

I know by not paying attention I’m missing out on some of the beauty in this world. Paying attention means taking a breath and focusing on things outside of myself.

I’ve chosen this particular daily action because I believe if I do it consistently for 37 days with no (NONE, ZERO, ZIP) exceptions, I will:

be experiencing the world around me better. No more being so focused on going from place a to place b that I’m unaware of my surroundings. No more being so focused on tasks that I become lost to all those around me.

If I should fail, I won’t blame anyone but myself (not even my partner, that idiot with 29 items in the express lane at the Piggly Wiggly, the IRS (so needy!), the people who make frosted Pop Tarts and Lofthouse Cookies, or Fate).

I also realize that this contract is solely with myself and carries no rewards, penalties or punishments other than those associated with the reflection of the strength of my character.

New things will happen for me.

I’m ready.

TODAY IS DAY ONE.

Check out 37 Days for more information about this challenge.

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 37 Days Challenge

  1. Priscilla says:

    What a lovely idea! And how true about the IRS…they are needy, aren’t they?

  2. Nice – good things are bound to come from this this for you –

  3. vivienne says:

    That is a fabulous idea – you should take a photo of each thing so you have a journal of these things you see. I will have to head over to this site now and have a look.

  4. Carolynn says:

    Yay! This is an awesome goal. You would have loved the walk I had today…so much to see and enjoy! Blessings every where.

    Thanks for visiting me and leaving a lovely supportive comment!

    • Vasilly says:

      Carolynn, you’re right. I think one of the things I should do is take a walk. You can’t help but pay attention and focus on something other than yourself.

  5. J. Kaye says:

    It would be a challenge for me to do one thing consistently for a week. 37 days? For me, no way! You go! I admire anyone who can or at the very least tries.🙂

    • Vasilly says:

      Thanks, J. Kaye! I’m going to try. I’m pretty bad with being consistent but I’m going to try.

  6. Rebecca Reid says:

    What a great project! I hope it goes well.

Comments are closed.