Book Love

sisterhood_awardEarlier this week the lovely Gavin gave me the Sisterhood Award. Thank you so much!

Kailana at The Written Word also sent me some blogger love. She gave me the Promixidade Award.

proximade_award“This blog invests and believes in the PROXIMITY-nearness in space, time and relationships. These blogs are exceedingly charming. These kind bloggers aim to find and be friends. They are not interested in prizes or self-aggrandizement! Our hope is that when the ribbons of these prizes are cut, even more friendships are propagated. Please give more attention to these writers! Deliver this award to eight bloggers who must choose eight more and include this clever-written text into the body of their award.”

It’s feels so good to be given these great awards especially when I’m terribly shy in person. Thank you Gavin and Kailana so much!

I’m joining a new challenge. I see you, shaking your head in disbelief. I know you would think I would finish one challenge before starting a new one, but you only live once.

I’m joining the Herding Cats 2 challenge. You list five of your favorite books that you read between 2007-2009. Then you pick as many books as you want to read from other participants’ lists. There’s no pressure to review. The challenge starts April 1st and ends December 31st. My five favorites are:

digh

1. Life is a Verb by Patti Digh.  I pick this book up after reading a great review on Head Butler.com. Life is a Verb is part memoir, part self-help, and full of pleasure.

2. We Are the Ship: the Story of the Negro League Baseball by Kadir Nelson. Nominated for a Cybils award this year, We  Are the Ship is the true story of the Negro League from its creation to its end. It’s a children’s book that’s perfect for all ages. The illustrations are not to be missed.

3. The Black Book of Colors by Menena Cottin. How would you describe the color yellow to someone who is blind? Cottin answers that question with a book that is like none I’ve ever read. It’s another picture book that’s for all ages.

richardson1

4. The End of the Alphabet by CS Richardson. A novella about a dying husband, his relationship with his wife, and his dying wish. It’s one of the few books I reread every year.

5. The Rights of the Reader by Daniel Pennac (nonfiction). You want to know how good this book is? I read it for the first time last week and now I’m rereading it again this week. I have never done that before. If I could I would buy as many copies as I could and give them away to everyone I know who loves to read or is a parent. Read it. Here’s a link to Pennac’s  Reader’s Bill of Rights.

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in 2009 challenges, Herding Cats 2 Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Book Love

  1. Renay says:

    The Black Book of Colors sounds fascinating. My library doesn’t have it but I am going to stalk some of the big box retailers to see if they have a copy I can sneak a look at.

  2. J. Kaye says:

    Hey! Wanted to let you know that another award awaits here for you.

  3. Gavin says:

    You are very welcome. Your comments helped me feel welcome in the book blogging community. I am going to check out Herding Cats 2. It is a great way to let folks know about favorite books and to gather interesting title to add to my already out of control TBR list:)

  4. Book Psmith says:

    Congratulations on your awards. I am thinking about the herding cats challenge but not sure if I should take on another. I love the idea behind it. Because of your posts, I have an interlibrary request going through for The Rights of the Reader and plan on reading it for the read-a-thon.

  5. marie says:

    I like the idea of the Herding Cats challenge!🙂

  6. Nymeth says:

    Congratulations on your awards, Vasilly! They’re well-deserved🙂 I *think* I’m done picking my five books for the challenge, but I might change my mind before posting the list😛

  7. Kailana says:

    Your welcome on the award! You so deserve it!

    I am thinking of joining this challenge, but there are so many books to choose from! I am going to decide tomorrow one way or another.

  8. Pingback: Herding Cats 2 « Page247

  9. Vasilly says:

    Renay: It’s a great book. I’m warning you, if you sit and read it you’re going to want to buy it. Happy reading!

    J. Kaye: Thank you! You’re the best!

    Gavin: You have a great list!

    Book Psmith: I can’t wait until the book is in your hands!

    Marie: It’s such a great idea!

    Nymeth: I’m waiting for your list!

    Kailana: I can’t wait to read your decision.

  10. iliana says:

    The End of the Alphabet was wonderful wasn’t it? I remember try to keep notes of favorite passages but the whole book was a favorite!🙂

    I must read The Reader’s Bill of Rights.

    Have fun with your challenge!

  11. Vasilly says:

    The End of the Alphabet was a great book! Maybe I’ll reread it soon. Please read The Rights of the Reader. It’s a great book.

  12. fleurfisher says:

    What a wonderful list of books! I am very curious about the Black Book of Colors and I have just bought The Rights of the Reader and it looks wonderful.

Comments are closed.