A Reading Date and a Plan

The kids in my house love going on “reading dates.” A reading date is when I take at least one kid and go to the library or bookstore. We find books we want to read and also have lunch. With five kids in the house and everyone a full-time something, it’s nice for each kid to get some alone time with me.

So this past Sunday instead of taking one or two kids, my mother and I took all five kids! I wish I had took a camera with me to show you how great our date was. We went to the main library in my city, which is about thirty minutes away from home. We don’t visit there often  but when we do it’s a real treat for all of us.

The girls got on the computer and played reading games while the boys and I scoured the children’s section for books. Some of the great books we found were:

A Good Day by Kevin Henkes for my oldest son.

100 Science Experiments by Usborne for my daughter who is trying to find an experiment to do for an upcoming fair.

Goosie and Gertie by Olivier Dunrea. My youngest loves this series about goslings.

Lily’s Big Day by Kevin Henkes. One of my little sisters,  discovered Henkes and is trying to read everything with his name on it. She’s forgetting that I introduced Henkes’ books to her years ago.

chodos-irvineHer twin checked out Ella Sarah Gets Dressed by Margaret Chodos-Irvine. This is one of the few books that every kid in the house loves.

After a while I went and browse a little in the other sections of the library. I only picked up a handful of books since I was already almost at my 25-books limit.We stayed for close to an hour before heading to the check-out desk.

Five kids plus two adults using four library cards equals a huge amount of books being checked out of the library. So the goal is for at least ten of the books to be read and returned by the end of each week. We’re doing pretty good so far. The kids usually read several books a night before deciding on their favorite for the next couple of weeks. They stick to their favorites while ignoring all the others and read that until it’s time to return the book.

Since almost all my stacks are double-stacked with books and it doesn’t help that I receive more in the mail today, I came up with a plan.

I’m going to stop buying books from now until July.

No more using my cold hard cash to receive any more of those beautiful dead-tree things. I can always swap books on paperbackswap.com as long as I don’t pay for book credits. If you hear me say I bought a book, feel free to leave a comment reminding me. The first five people who leave a comment for every book I buy can have any book on my shelves. Since I have a terrible memory, something tells me I will be sending out books. This is the honor system and I plan on telling you every time I buy a book.

Do you think my plan will work?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Reading Date and a Plan

  1. claire says:

    First, what a lovely idea to have a reading date with each kid! How old is your youngest and your oldest? My boys are 8, 6, and 1. We usually go to the library after school, once a week. And we love Henkes, though we’ve only read two by him. There’s one on our shelves, which is my favourite, Kitten’s First Full Moon. The other one was from the library, the one with dogs, I forget the title.

    Anyway, as for you not buying, not sure if that will work, hm.. it’s very hard not to get tempted, unless you never ever step into a bookstore! But sending out books to your commenters when you buy, now that’s a grand idea, ha ha! (Hope I catch you..)😀

  2. Kailana says:

    Sounds like a fun day!

    I am also on a no book buying ban. I have only been allowing myself to buy books by favourite authors that have new books out this year, unless I have gift cards. It has been working out pretty good. 🙂

  3. Vasilly says:

    Claire: I hope you catch me! I have a new year’s resolution to only buy twenty books this year and only those that my library doesn’t have, but I’ve failed miserably. If I buy a new book, you are welcomed to have anything on my shelves!

    My kids are 3, 5, and 7 while my little sisters are both 9. I usually try to take them to the library once a week to return books and pick up the ones on hold.

    Kailana, I need your will!

  4. vivienne says:

    good luck with not buying books. If you are anything like me, there is a huge possibility that you will fail miserably.
    I love the idea of the reading date, sounds like you all had a fabulous day. How do you cope with five children, I don’t cope with two – you must be a fabulous mum.

  5. marie says:

    I love the reading-date idea. How fun. I bet the kids look forward to it! I would have!!

  6. Frances says:

    I do not know if your plan will work, but I do know you must be one awesome mother. It is the little things that matter – all those small acts of love and attention like library dates.

    Try Totally Irresponsible Science for your science experiment need. One amazing book!!

  7. Vasilly says:

    Vivienne: I am definitely like you! But I’m going to give it 100%. Hopefully that’ll be enough. Thanks!

    Marie: I found out about it on another website and thought “this is perfect.” So we try to do it often enough.

    Frances: Thanks! With so many kids here, I have to be creative. Thanks for the book recommendation, I’m going to check it out!

  8. Bree says:

    Wow, 5 kids. I just read your comments and realize only 3 are yours. Even so, 3/5 kids in the house and doing homework, how do you do it?

  9. Vasilly says:

    Bree, I often do homework late at night (like right now) and during nap time. I pay for daycare every week so I can have some time to myself that can be devoted to homework also.

Comments are closed.