It’s Monday! Here are two memes

It’s Monday! What are you reading? weekly event

This is a weekly event to list the books completed last week, the books currently being reading, and the books to be finish this week. Feel free to join in this weekly event if you’d like.

Books Completed Last Week

  1. The Rights of the Reader by Daniel Pennac
  2. Hansel and Gretel – Jane Yolen
  3. Bats at the Library – Brian Lies
  4. Dinosaur vs. Bedtime – Bob Shea
  5. The Octopus: Grandpa Spanielson’s Chicken Pox Stories #1 – Denys Cazet
  6. Old Bear – Kevin Henkes
  7. Where the Wild Things Are – Maurice Sendak
  8. Wake Up, Sun – David L. Harrison

Short Stories Read Last Week:

  1. Godmother Death” – Jane Yolen from the anthology Black Swan, White Raven
  2. “Sonny’s Blues” – James Baldwin
  3. “Alef the Idiot” by Jonathon Keats from the collection The Book of the Unknown

Essays Read Last Week: (both from This I Believe II edited by Jay Allison and Dan Gediman)

  1. “I will take my voice back” – Quique Aviles
  2. “Finding the Strength to Fight our Fears” Terry Ahwal

I think I’m really lucky to have loved everything I read last week. It’s impossible to name my absolute favorite.

This Week’s Reading List:

  1. The Love We Share Without Knowing by Christopher Barzack
  2. The Reading Zone – Nancie Atwell (already reading)
  3. The Rights of the Reader – Daniel Pennac (re-reading)
  4. A Thousand Years of Good Prayers – Yiyun Li
  5. Hanne’s Quest – Olivier Dunrea
  6. Fables Vol. 4: March of The Wooden Soldiers – Bill Willingham (re-reading)

Mailbox Monday

This is what I received:

I heard about The Rights of the Reader on one of the many blogs I subscribe to. It’s funny how I can’t remember which one it was but I am forever grateful. Look for a review soon.

I was very lucky to win a copy of Christopher Barzack’s The Love We Share Without Knowing. Nymeth praised this book, so that’s the reason why I’m going to read it.

Without Blood by Alessandro Barrico. I’ve had this book on my wish list at paperbackswap.com for more than a year. Did I mention I’ve been #1 that whole time? So it was unexpected to receive an email telling me that the book was on its way. I plan on reading it for the Lost in Translation challenge.

The Reading Zone by Nancie Atwell. I’m currently reading this and no amount of words can tell you enough how important it is for every adult who regularly interacts with children to read this book. The same goes for The Rights of the Reader.

What are you reading this week?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Mailbox Mondays, meme.. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to It’s Monday! Here are two memes

  1. bookfan says:

    Interesting list! Enjoy.

    My MM is up.

  2. J. Kaye says:

    You are a super reader – my hero!🙂 Love hanging around your blog. You motivate me to do more.

  3. Vasilly says:

    Thanks, Bookfan!

    J. Kaye, you’re the best! We motivate each other!

  4. Nymeth says:

    It makes me happy to see so many bloggers reading Godmother Death lately. One of my favourite stories! And I really hope you enjoy The Love We Share Without Knowing🙂

  5. Kristen says:

    Oooooo. An Alessandro Baricco book? I will have to scoot my little self over to amazon and check it out. I *adored* Silk and have Ocean Sea here on the tbr shelf as a result but didn’t know there was another one too. Oh joy. Oh rapture.

  6. Wendi B. says:

    Wow – Without Blood gave me goose bumps!

    Here’s my Mailbox! ~ Wendi

  7. marie says:

    can’t wait to read your review of Rights of the Reader. I reviewed it a while back and loved it🙂

  8. Sandra says:

    You had a great reading week, wow, and quite a variety of things too. Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak and The Reading Zone sound really interesting to me. I do both these memes too. Happy reading.

  9. Cathy says:

    Very interesting list of books. I feel my wish list growing!

  10. Gavin says:

    I am going the add The Love We Share Without Knowing to my TBR pile. If you’re reading it and Nymeth praised it the book is to enticing to ignore.
    What do you think of the Fables series?
    I’m going to the library today. Can’t wait to see what’s there!

  11. iliana says:

    I don’t really read essays so I’m interested in hearing more about those you’ve read. I’ll be watching out for a review on those!

    Have fun with all those books.

  12. Gavin says:

    Vasilly – I know these things are kind of silly but I left something here for you.

    http://page247.wordpress.com/2009/03/24/sisterhood-is-powerful/

    Enjoy!

  13. Marcia says:

    Thank you for stopping by the mailbox this week. I love the cover of ‘Without Blood’.

Comments are closed.