Sunday Salon: The Reader’s Bill of Rights

pennac4“The  Reader’s Bill of Rights” by Daniel Pennac from The Rights of The Reader (1992) translated from the French by Sarah Adams.

  1. The right not to read
  2. The right to skip
  3. The right not to finish a book
  4. The right to read it again
  5. The right to read anything
  6. The right to mistake a book for real life
  7. The right to read anywhere
  8. The right to dip in
  9. The right to read out loud
  10. The right to be quiet

Can you tell that I already love this book? The Rights of the Reader has only been in my hands for less than a week and I’ve already read it and started rereading it.

Originally published in France in 1992, it wasn’t until last year that this book was translated and published in the United States. We have been missing out.

Understand this is not a review. I want to read it again before I post my thoughts.  I can say this is a book about the love of reading and how to spread that love to children and young adults. You can click on the title and follow the link to Amazon for more information about the book. I think throughout the week I’ll post more quotes from the book. Happy Sunday!

What book do you currently love?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Sunday Salon: The Reader’s Bill of Rights

  1. claire says:

    This sounds so wonderful! Definitely going on my TBR list.. thanks!😀

  2. Debbie Nance says:

    I’ve got it on my wish list. I always remind myself: You are a grownup. You can finish a book or not finish a book. You can read the ending first. You can read several books at a time. You can skip over the boring parts.

  3. marie says:

    that’s such a great book🙂 terrific post!

  4. Nymeth says:

    I had said the Reader’s Bill of Rights around, but I had no idea where it came from. Must check out that book!

  5. Shanra says:

    Teehee! I’m like Nymeth. I’ve seen this bill of rights before, but I never knew where it came from! So thank you for (inadvertently) answering that question!

  6. Molly says:

    What a great list – and it sounds like a wonderful book. I plan to add to my TBR list right away.

  7. Frances says:

    This looks great! Will you let me know when you post a review? Let me post you in as a guest reviewer for my Lost in Translation challenge?

  8. Hi there! I loved the reader’s bill of rights…I had never seen those before! I’m addicted to reading, so I will have to come back and visit your lovely blog again. Please stop by mine when you get a moment!

  9. Karen H. says:

    What a wonderful list! Thanks for sharing it. Right now the book I am loving is Mockingbird by Charles Shields.

  10. Vasilly says:

    Claire: It’s a great read. I hope you enjoy it!

    Debbie: I know! I always have to remind myself that it’s okay to put a book down if I don’t like it. Skipping over the boring parts is a new hobby of mine!

    Marie: Thanks!

    Nymeth: You read it on Dewey’s blog! Yesterday I was trying to find more reviews of this book online and Dewey’s blog was a hit! She read a different book by the same author.

    Shanra: No problem! Thanks for stopping by!

    Frances: Of course!

    Cindy: I love your blog!

    Karen: I’ve added it to my TBR list! Thanks for letting me know what you’re loving.

  11. Eva says:

    This sounds like a neat book! My favourite right is #6.😀

  12. Dawn says:

    Cathy at Kittling: Books has the list (rights of a reader) posted on her blog, but I didn’t realize it was from a book.

    Adding this one to my wish list right away🙂

  13. iliana says:

    I have this list next to my calendar. I love it and definitely follow #3🙂

    Looking forward to hearing more from the book!

  14. Valentina says:

    I love love love this book. But I love Pennac in general so no surprise there. I’m so happy it’s been finally translated into English. We Italians have been loving this author for aaages!😀

  15. Valentina says:

    ps: I’m actually going to edit my “reader’s bill of rights”on my blog with the translation you posted, I think it’s more accurate!!

  16. Pingback: Book Love « 1330v

  17. Vasilly says:

    Eva: #6 is my life!

    Dawn: I hope you love it as much as I do!

    Iliana: I’ve been doing #3 a lot lately.

    Valentina: Pennac should’ve been translated years ago!

Comments are closed.