Sunday Salon: A Great Week for Books

Despite last week being full of midterms, it is my best reading week so far this year. I read ten books! Half were picture books and the other half adult. I read:

  • Bonsai by Alejandro Zambra. Lost in Translation, Orbis Terraum, and A to Z challenges.
  • The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery. Lost in Translation, Orbis Terraum, Dewey’s Books Challenges.
  • Annie Leibovitz at Work by Annie Leibovitz. A to Z challenge
  • The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne. Required reading for school.
  • Fables Vol. 3: Storybook Love by Bill Willingham. Graphic Novels Challenge
  • The Big Green Pocketbook by Candice Ransom. Young Readers Challenge.
  • The House in the Night by Susan Marie Swanson. Book Awards and Young Readers challenges.
  • My Friend, the Starfinder by George Ella Lyon. Young Readers Challenge.
  • The Little Bit Scary People by Emily Jenkins. Young Readers.
  • How to Heal a Broken Wing by Bob Graham. Young Readers.

My favorite adult read was The Elegance of the Hedgehog. Funny and philosophical, the ‘Hedgehog’ was a pleasure to read. At 325 pages it can be a dense read at times while other chapters fly by. One of my classmates saw all the post-its in the book and thought it had been required reading for a class.

My least favorite was Bonsai. It’s the tale of a relationship between a man and a woman and what happens after they break up. The best part of the book was the opening paragraph,

In the end she dies and he remains alone, although in truth he was alone some years before her death, Emilia’s death. Let’s say that she is called or was called Emilia and that he is called, was called, and continues to be called Julio. Julio and Emilia. In the end Emilia dies and Julio does not die. The rest is literature. . .

Why couldn’t the rest of the 83-page novella be as beautiful as that opening paragraph? Usually I don’t bother write a review about books I hate dislike but I feel a tad guilty since I asked my library to order this book and they did. I checked on Goodreads and found that readers either loved it or hated it.

I don’t have a favorite for picture books. All five were great reads. My kids really loved  The House in the Night while one of my sisters loved the repetition in The Little Bit Scary People. Look for reviews of all the books I read this week in the next couple of days.

For the Try Something New mini-challenge hosted by Nymeth, Valentina and I are partnering up to read short stories. I own a ton of collections but never find the time to read them. I plan on reading Angela Carter’s The Bloody Chamber while Valentina reads a different collection. Now I’m off to read and relax.

What are you currently reading?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in 2009 challenges, A-Z Challenge, Book Awards Reading Challenge, Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Sunday Salon: A Great Week for Books

  1. Nymeth says:

    Ten books! That’s fantastic. The Elegance of the Hedgehog sounds like something I’d love. And that’s too bad about Bonsai…the opening paragraph is promising indeed.

    I hope you enjoy The Bloody Chamber! It’s one of my favourite short story collections.

  2. Debbie Nance says:

    I loved Hedgehog. It was everything I love in a book…flawed and lonely characters who are redeemed by friendship and companionship.

    I just couldn’t get Starfinder. I could not really figure out what that book was all about.

  3. Priscilla says:

    I’ve been wanting to look through that Annie Leibovitz book. I love her work.

  4. vivienne says:

    Ten books! I am really impressed. I will only ever do that if someone takes my children away for a week!

  5. Frances says:

    Now that is a reading week! The Elegance of the Hedgehog is my favorite book so far this year. The interior monologues kept me fixed to the text. Large chunks of text flew by – could not believe how long I had been reading. Also liked the Annie Leibovitz eye candy. Wishing you this much reading time every week!

  6. Gavin says:

    Ten books! What a great week. I covet the Leibovitz book but will end up getting it from the library. I have Hedgehog on hold but as usual have to get through the 8 or 9 other books sitting in a pile on my desk!
    If I may, a suggestion for a picture book..The River of Words by Jen Bryant and Melissa Sweet, it is wonderful.

  7. Gavin says:

    Ooh, how about Winter Trees by Carole Gerber? I’m sure, with your kids about, you read more picture books than I do! Can’t wait for your reviews.

  8. iliana says:

    That is a great reading week! I really want to read Elegance of the Hedgehog but got so many other books in line right now I’ll have to wait on that one. Have fun with your mini-challenge!

  9. Yvonne says:

    Wow, you had a great week!

  10. Dawn says:

    You got a lot read this week! Great balance between required reading and ‘just for fun’ adult and kid books.

    I’m doing the “try something new” challenge with Jessi as a partner. We’re reading a book of metafiction by Ara13. I thought I would really enjoy it, but I’ve had trouble getting into it. It’s been a very busy week with the culmination of a long-term project I was coaching my son thru, and a raging head cold. I’m hoping now that the Tournament is behind us I will concentrate better on this (admittedly short) book!

  11. Eva says:

    I’m so excited to read Hedgehog now-it sounds just perfect for me! You definitely had a great reading week, and I hope you did wonderfully on your midterms.🙂

  12. Kailana says:

    I am on the holds list for Hedgehog, but it is rather popular at the moment! One of these days I will get a chance to read it. 🙂

  13. Vasilly says:

    Nymeth: I think you would really like The Elegance of the Hegehog.

    Priscilla: The Annie Leibovitz book is great.

    Debbie Nance: I love the illustrations of Starfinder. They were better than the story.

    Vivienne: I just stay up at night and wake up early in the morning to read.

    Thanks, Eva! I can’t wait to read your thoughts of The Hedgehog!

    Dawn: Good luck with the book!

    Frances: Thanks.

    Kailana: Hopefully they’ll come soon.

    Yvonne: It was the best week!

    Iliana: Thanks, Iliana.

Comments are closed.