Mailbox Monday

I totally forgot today was Monday! Last week I didn’t receive any reading materials in the mail but this week makes up for it thanks to Paperbackswap and Amazon.

The books are Geraldine Brooks’s People of the Book; Lullabies for little Criminals, which I found out about from Kimbofo months ago and it was on the 2008 shortlist for the Orange Prize; Tigerheart by Peter David, a retelling of Peter Pan; the latest issue of Tin House; Gods Behaving Badly from BookThirty (thanks!); This Common Secret by Susan Wicklund; Jeremy Fink and the Meaning of Life by Wendy Mass, a young adult read that sounds very promising; How to Be an Explorer of the World by Keri Smith; and Knockemstiff by Donald Ray Pollock, which is a collection of short stories that’s been getting rave reviews.

Happy Readings!

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Mailbox Mondays. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Mailbox Monday

  1. birdbrainbb.net says:

    Tigerheart looks fantastic, so I’m definitely going to have to read it. How to Be an Explorer of the World looks good, too!

    (Welcome to MM!)

    – Anastasia

  2. Nymeth says:

    I loved Tigerheart. And I really want to read People of the Book too. Happy reading for you too!

  3. bermudaonion says:

    Wow – you got some great looking books. I hope you enjoy them all.

  4. Kailana says:

    Good haul! Some of those looking interesting, and some I have already read!

  5. Chris says:

    Wow! You got some really fantastic books in the mail this week! I have a copy of Tigerheart on it’s way to me right now🙂 I’m really excited about it.

  6. Carrie says:

    Tigerheart is absolutely brilliant!

  7. N.Vasillis says:

    Anastasia: How to be an Explorer seems like its a great read. I haven’t started it yet.

    Nymeth, Kailana, and Bermudaonion: Thanks, you guys!

  8. Bree says:

    I see your reading Notes to Self. I read that last summer and loved it. Its pretty soul baring on Samara’s part and I definitely know I could not do that publicly. She has a lot of great ideas for journaling and some I may take into the classroom.

  9. Wendi B. - Wendi's Book Corner ~ Rainy Day Reads in Seattle says:

    Wow – what a great week! The book by Geraldine Brooks looks great – I’ve got it on my tbr pile.

    Here’s my Mailbox! ~ Wendi

  10. Wendi B. - Wendi's Book Corner ~ Rainy Day Reads in Seattle says:

    Wow – what a great week! The book by Geraldine Brooks looks great – I’ve got it on my tbr pile.

    Here’s my Mailbox! ~ Wendi

  11. Scrap girl says:

    What a fantastic haul. Is the book swap international?

  12. N.Vasillis says:

    Chris and Carrie: I can’t wait to read it!

    Bree: I know! I just started reading it. O’Shea is very brave.

    Wendy: I saw your pile. It looks great.

    Scrapgirl: Th swap isn’t international, but they’re working on it.

  13. Iliana says:

    Ooh, I totally want to read the Keri Smith book. Have you checked out any of her other books? Very inspiring and fun, especially Living Out Loud. Enjoy your books!

  14. J. Kaye says:

    What a super nice load!🙂 You are gonna be busy now.

Comments are closed.