Beautiful Lies

I finished Beautiful Lies by Lisa Unger early this morning, when insomnia had came and woke me up. I had picked Beautiful Lies up at my local library because it’s the July pick for their book club. I put it on hold and wasn’t even going to pick it up. But I did.
Beautiful Lies tells the story of Ridley Jones, a girl whose life is changed by subtle decisions. The decision to meet her ex-boyfriend one day, to save a child from being hit by a car… Soon a mysterious package shows up in her mailbox, asking her to question her identity and the trust she has in the people around her.
A compelling read that kept my attention even when I wanted to slap Ridley for being so naive at times. She’s a solid character. Maybe because I come from a totally different background, but sometimes I couldn’t feel for her. She cried so often in the book, I started to shake my head at it. She started to feel weak.
I never read mysteries. It’s just not my thing, but I’m glad I gave this book a chance. Even with my problems with Ridley I still put the sequel, Sliver of Truth, on hold at my library. I hope the main character grows stronger in this next book.

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in fiction. Bookmark the permalink.