Sunday Salon

sunday salon

Time: // 5:32 a.m. Sunday (Insomnia is no joke.)

Listening to: // “All About That Bass” by Meghan Trainor. What a fun song about plus-size women! Have you heard it?

Reading: // I’m still reading The Canon by Natalie Angier. I’m liking it a lot but I do notice that Angier tries to show off her science knowledge in a way that can be distracting. I’m hoping to finish it in a few days. For some reason, I’m not really in the mood to read fiction right now.

This week: // is the last week of summer before we start back homeschooling. Is it possible to cram in everything I want to do in seven days?! Oliver, my oldest son, has his 11th birthday tomorrow, which means he’s having a cakepops party and food will be all over the kitchen as the kids make their own. With his new bike, I’m sure we’ll spend most of the day outside.

Thanks to my reading mojo vanishing for much of the summer, I didn’t get to half of the books on my summer reading list (or any) but that’s okay. I can read them over the year and it’s a small stack anyway.

I need to spend the next week cramming in time at the beach, reading, lesson planning, and just relaxing. We’ll see if I can get it all done.

Promoting: Melissa’s (Feminist Texican) review of The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood on audio. I keep saying that I’m going to listen to this and haven’t yet.

Buried in Print’s post on This One Summer by cousins Mariko and Jillian Tamaki. B.I.P., Candace (BethFishReads), and my daughter have all enjoyed this book. What am I waiting for?

Now I’m off to: // enjoy my coffee and curl up with The Canon.

What are you up to today?

21 thoughts on “Sunday Salon

  1. Can you believe the summer is flying by so fast? Happy Birthday to you son!
    I didn’t get too much reading in this summer myself, I couldn’t make much time for it unfortunately.
    Enjoy your week and that is a fun song :)

  2. I hate it when my reading mojo is gone. That has to be your highest priority now, I think. Hope you can find it. It is usually not far away. Look under the dresser.

  3. I’ve been wanting to re-read The Handmaid’s Tale lately and that audio version sounds like a pretty great way to do it. I’m always kind of curious how books I’ve read in the past would be revisited in audio.

  4. Happy Birthday to your son!

    Today is brought to you by the letter R. I will be doing nothing but reading and relaxing. I’m reading Notre-Dame of Paris (The Hunchback), and The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd.

  5. I’ve listened to The Handmaid’s Tale on audio and it was so haunting. I think I actually need to read this one.

    Good luck with your last week of summer! I hope you are able to cram everything in, but still relax and enjoy!

  6. We always take our week of summer vacation late, so it doesn’t start until next week. Still have this week to get through, and I try not to think about September much until after Labor Day! No kids to go back to school, so September is a little less exciting these days, anyway! Good luck with your cramming, and remember — You can still do summertime stuff into September! Sometimes the weather’s even nicer. :)

  7. Weird. I actually took a look at The Canon on my TBR shelf last night and thought “I should read that soon”.
    Have a great last week of summer! And happy 11th to Oliver. :)

  8. Happy birthday wishes in advance to your son! I hope he (and you all) have a fabulous time!

    I always feel like I need to do it all in the last week before holidays end. I never make it close. Hope you have better success at it!

  9. Love All About that Bass! I hadn’t see that one. Made me get up and dance!

    Hope y’all have a great last week of summer!

  10. If it wasn’t 100+ degrees today, I would be walking over to the university library to snatch up a copy of This One Summer. I can’t wait to read it, and hopefully write about it for Panels. Hoping to do lots of focus on multi-ethnic comics and diversity in the medium. Cheers to Oliver and a very happy birthday to him!

  11. It’s amazing how fast summer passes us by when we get “older” isn’t it? It always seemed so wonderfully long when I was a kid.

Comments are closed.