Sunday Salon

sunday salon

Time: // 7:14 am

The scene: // with the exception of the fan going, the house is pretty quiet. Almost everyone is still asleep and the air is so cool since it rained last night. I hope it continues today.

Drinking: // coffee because no one is crazy enough to want me to go without it.

July: // wasn’t the best month. I spent most of in a blah type of mood, where I didn’t get much read or done. I finished seven books, three of which were picture books and one was a graphic novel. In terms of quality, six out of the seven I would definitely recommend.

PicMonkey Collage

August: // holds a lot of promise. Hopefully. We start back homeschooling in two weeks. Until then, I’m getting lessons and materials together. The thing I really love about homeschooling through a charter school is all the materials and things the kids can do that they weren’t able to do in public school.

Looking forward to: // reading and reviewing more this month. Ruby by Cynthia Bond is a hard book to review. I’m trying to balance the summary without giving too much away. It’s a book more people should read.

I also plan on finally joining Trish’s Cook it Up: A Cookbook Challenge with my kids. We have lots of recipes just lying around, so I plan on making a recipe scrapbook to help us get started.

So what are you up to today? Have you read any good books?

18 thoughts on “Sunday Salon

  1. I’ve heard Ruby takes an emotional toll on its readers… will be curious to read your thoughts. Trish’s cookbook challenge is great! I linked up with Tequila Mockingbird yesterday, but am not quite sure what I’ll tackle for August.

  2. You always post great recommendations, I’m checking them out AND I’m checking out the Cookbook Challenge too! I have been meaning to do exactly this with my cookbooks too!

  3. Sounds like great plans for August! I’m working on my reading plans for the next few months, with the big trip to England in the middle of it. What to read before, during, and after — it feels, at the moment, like a jigsaw puzzle with too many pieces.

  4. Of course, I have to ask (and you don’t have to answer) what is the seventh book that you wouldn’t recommend? :)

    I understand the blah. I’m feeling it right now. Raining and wife is away for the weekend. Meh.

  5. Wow, school is just around the corner for you all! That’s cool that you can do it through a charter school. I don’t think we can do anything like that around here. It’s amazing how different regulations and whatnot are from state to state. Hope you all have a super fantastically fun school year!!!

    I can’t wait for your review of Ruby–I keep hearing “of” it, but I haven’t actually heard anything about it. But just knowing you’d recommend it is good enough for me.

  6. I’ve been guilty-pleasure reading the new Victoria Dahl book, alternating with this nonfiction book about Wikipedia and how it is run. Actually I’ve been craving rereads lately, more than anything, so I’ll probably return to some of my old standards next. That is my plan for August!

    (My other plan for August is getting a new bed. I am so excited about my new bed that it’s all I can think about, but I have to wait until the 12th or 15th or something for it to become available. THAT IS SO FAR FROM NOW.)

    I hope your August reading is good! I hope all the books thrill you this month!

  7. A cookbook scrapbook sounds amazing. And when your kids grow up and move out, they’ll be fighting over who gets to keep it. I feel like I’m calling my mom everyday to send me another recipe of hers that I love.

  8. Happy August!!! Thank you for reminding me about Trish’s cookbook challenge… I definitely want to do that for August! I’ve been out of the loop for over a month now, so I have no idea what other cool things are happening!

Comments are closed.