Monday Salon. . .again

Time: // I originally started writing this post around 8:30 Sunday night as I waited for my son’s x-rays to come back. He was playing soccer and miss the ball and kicked the concrete wall outside instead. Ouch!

The scene: // It’s now 6:55 am Monday morning. I’m sitting at the kitchen table, enjoying my coffee. With the exception of my daughter Piper’s chattering, it’s mostly quiet.

ruby
Reading: // I’m actually reading again! It’s like the world is more beautiful now! On a whim, I downloaded two graphic novels from NetGalley on Saturday and devoured both of them within hours. Now I’m reading Cynthia Bond’s Ruby. From what I’ve read about it, I’m sure it’s a devastating read. You know, the kind of read that breaks your heart with its characters’ lives and beautiful writing.

high summer rat

Promoting: // Michelle’s High Summer Read-a-thon which starts today and ends this Sunday. I’m joining the event in hopes of keeping my reading streak going. I have no idea what I’m going to read after Ruby and that’s okay. I’m going to go where my mood takes me.

Aarti is bringing back A More Diverse Universe event for the third year in a row. In the past, the event highlight speculative fiction by writers of color. This time around Aarti is expanding the event’s reach by highlighting books of all genres by writers of color. A More Diverse Universe is going on the last two weeks of September, so there’s plenty of time to sign up, help out, and figure out what to read for the event. You can find more information on Aarti’s blog.

Now I’m off to: // read.

What have you been up to lately? Read any good books?

16 thoughts on “Monday Salon. . .again

  1. Yayyy for A More Diverse Universe! Last time around was my first time participating, and I’ll definitely be back in. I hope you love RUBY as much as I did. It was TOTALLY heartbreaking but so worthwhile. I hope your son’s xrays turned out ok and he’s not seriously hurt!

  2. Hi Vasilly, I hope your son is OK. My son and I both have broken bones and are both on crutches. It is really lazy around our house and I have been reading a lot too. I just picked up a graphic novel for the Readathon called War Brothers. All I have to say is WOW so far.

  3. Glad that your son did not have any fractures! Phew! Hope he feels better soon. I need to read Ruby – everyone’s raving about it.

  4. Yes, definitely OUCH! Glad nothing was broken, and I do hope he’s feeling better soon!
    And HOORAY for the end of your reading slump! Even though I think most of us have learned that they’re just a part of life and can just go with the flow, it sure does feel damn good when they come to an end, doesn’t it? :D

  5. Ouch! Happy to hear nothing was broken!

    Big yay to the More Diverse Universe. I’m so pleased Aarti’s bringing it back for September. I know it’s a huge amount of work for her, but I think it is going to be a great event.

  6. “It’s like the world is more beautiful now!”
    Ha, this is exactly what it feels like when I get to do some reading after a slump, a busy or difficult time, etc. And I heard the most amazing things about Ruby. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it!

  7. Ruby is a devastatingly beautiful read. I can’t wait to hear what you think about it. I will review it soon but only on my You Tube channel as I don’t seem too keen to write reviews lately.

  8. I hope your son is feeling better! That sounds so painful. I also love the way you describe feeling excited about reading again – it’s so true!

Comments are closed.