Sunday Salon on a Monday

Time: // 7:12 pm

The scene: // Sitting in my living room, typing this. Spring break for my sisters and I have started. I still have homeschooling but since spraining my neck (didn’t know that was possible) earlier last week, I’m going to be lying down a lot.

18467818

Just finished reading: // An Untamed State by Roxane Gay. Shannon and I were discussing it a little via Goodreads. I recommend it to Aarti, Ana, Jill, and Jenny.

Now I’m continuing: // a few books I started earlier last week like A Tale of the Dueling Neurosurgeons by Sam Kean (nonfiction) and Cress by Marissa Meyer. I like I’m going to DNF Delancey by Molly Wizenberg for now. It’s an okay book but I’m not pulled in to the writing.

17465709

Next up: // Braiding Sweetgrass: Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge, and the Teachings of Plants by Robin Wall Kimmerer. Someone (who?) reviewed this book a few months ago and I had to pick it up.

Promoting: // Though I haven’t been blogging a lot lately, I’m still reading everyone’s posts. On the Read-a-thon blog, Andi wrote why Dewey’s read-a-thon is a lot like a choose your own adventure book.

A Girl is a Half-Formed Thing by Eimear McBride was recently nominated for a few awards. Heather at Between the Covers recently wrote a review about the book as hard to read but still impressive.

Now I’m off to: // start my day.

What have you been up? What are you reading?

19 thoughts on “Sunday Salon on a Monday

  1. Thank you for the shout out!

    How in the world did you sprain your neck?! That must be so painful. I hope it’s feeling better soon.

  2. I read about An Untamed State. Although it has been getting great reviews, gang rape? And based on the author’s OWN experiences so it’s all the more realistic? I don’t think I can handle it!

  3. I keep having to take moments to put An Untamed State down, but find myself unable to wait to know what’s going to happen and having to pick it back up. Roxane Gay is a master and I just feel like it’s such an important book (that finally pulled me out of a slump!).

  4. A girl after my own heart, posting on Monday for Sunday! Hope your neck feels better very soon. I need to read Sunset Park by Paul Auster for a book club tomorrow, so I need to get off the computer and get back to the book!

  5. Aww.. I hope you get plenty of rest. The worst kind of neck sprains are the ones that happen while you sleep .. is that the one you got? Enjoy your Spring break!

  6. Happy Monday. I’ve been reading but not commenting and am thinking of trying to blog again. Life gets in the way sometimes so I’ve taken a long break. If only we could just read and blog! Sorry to hear about your neck and hope you will feel better soon.

  7. A sprained neck sounds AWFUL!!! I hope you’re feeling better very soon!
    I want An Untamed State so badly! While I don’t get on tumblr nearly as much as I’d like, I love when I do and find Gay’s made a new post.

  8. I’ve only heard amazing things about An Untamed State and am really looking forward to reading it (as well as her forthcoming collections of essays on feminism!)

  9. I’m super torn on An Untamed State. In one way you’re preaching to the converted — I love Roxane Gay and I am totally excited for a book of hers — and in another way I’m not sure I can face reading a book whose Publishers Weekly review included the words “sexual savagery”. How graphic and savage is the savagery? My tolerance is low and nightmarey.

    1. Jenny, my tolerance is pretty low too. I went into this book not knowing anything about it except what the description talked about. There is sexual savagery. Very much so but Gay’s writing is so brilliant, that as a reader, I wanted to turn to those chapters to see how the main character was faring.

  10. Argh on you neck. Sounds painful! I’m slowly coming back to normal after a crazy busy spring. And DNF whatever doesn’t grab you … not worth your time.

  11. Hope you are feeling better. You’ve got a Spring Break to enjoy! And, I’m all for putting aside books that aren’t grabbing you. Too many others to read!

  12. Just stopping in to say how glad I am that you’re with us for Dewey’s again. I saw that you initially weren’t going to sign up, and that made me a wee bit sad since I think of you as part of the core group that keeps this train a’chugging. But I know you have a lot on your plate, so I was totally pleasantly surprised to see you pop up on the sign-up list. <3 –Andi

Comments are closed.