Sunday Salon

Time: // 8:08 am

The scene: // sitting in my living room, relaxing. It has been a long morning as I’ve been up since 4 am. I went for a sunrise stroll on the beach, ate breakfast at a local diner, and now I’m ready to go back to bed!

Currently reading: // Why Don’t Students Like School?: A Cognitive Scientist Answers Questions About How the Mind Works and What it Means for the Classroom by Daniel T. Willingham. I started this book last month but finally found the time to read it earlier this week. I’m only a few chapters in but this book is stuffed with information.

18114067

I needed some fiction to read, so I started reading Queen Sugar by Natalie Baszile.

Completing: // the last day of Bloggiesta. I’m more than halfway through with my to-do list. Now I just need to brainstorm some ideas for future posts.

Celebrating: // the fact that the Excel portion of my computer class is over with! Now my class will try to conquer Microsoft Access.

Thinking about: // two posts with similar ideas. Yesterday Shannon (River City Reading) shared what she read in March and how she hasn’t read any books that blows her “out of the water”. Andi (Estella’s Revenge) write a similar post this morning.

I had to check my own Goodreads account and see how many 5-star books I’ve read for this year. The number: 3. That’s not surprising. I’ve read some pretty good reads but not many amazing ones. Hmmm.

Sleep: // is calling my name so I’m off.

What was the last 5-star book that you’ve read?

33 thoughts on “Sunday Salon

  1. I normally don’t give star ratings on Goodreads anymore but recently I was inspired to give 5 stars to The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry. Excellent read :D

    That photo is so lovely. It makes me want to take a walk. Too bad my town is still covered in 3 feet of snow, lol.

    Happy Sunday!

  2. My last 5-star read was Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston. Guess there’s something to be said for turning to the classics!

  3. As for my own thoughts on five-star reads, besides this blog post :), I guess I’m too easy, as four of the last 16 books I’ve read so far have been five-star reads for me, although in my defense, the one was a reread. That was The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie.

  4. Intuitive Eating got five stars, but that’s not fiction (though I rarely give five stars to non-fiction).

    The last five-star novel for me was Book of A Thousand Days by Shannon Hale back in July. I have read some four-star novels since then, though.

  5. I haven’t had a lot of 5 star books lately either, but I really loved The Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor and A Game for Swallows by Zeina Abirached and Someone by Alice McDermott. I have quite a few 4 star books this year, though, so that is still good!

  6. Now that I think about it, I did have one book that I marked as five stars on Goodreads this year: Dept. of Speculation by Jenny Offil. It seems like I read that a long time ago. Maybe I just have really high expectations for some of the books I’m picking up and they just aren’t quite getting there?

  7. The sunrise part sounds horribly early, but a walk on the beach sure makes me jealous. :) Your currently reading sounds fascinating.

  8. My last five star read was To Say Nothing of the Dog by Connie Willis! I feel like I’ve been rating a lot of books 3.5 stars or more– guess it’s been a good reading month. :D

  9. You were waking up around the time I was going to bed! I had a great reading month and the last five star book I read was The Chocolate Touch. Before that I read another five star book, I’ve Come to Stay.

  10. I have read so many five-star books this year, so many more than in other years at this time. Usually it’s the other way around.

      1. Zone One by Colson Whitehead, The Sandcastle Girls by Chris Bohjalian, Tales of the City by Armistead Maupin, Country Hardball by Steve Weddle, MaddAddam by Margaret Atwood, Golden Boy by Abigail Tarttelin (got four stars, but only because of a personal preference).

      2. I really need to get on the ball and read some Margaret Atwood! Thanks for the list! I’m going to see if my library has any of these.

  11. I was intrigued by Andi’s post, too. I also checked at Goodreads. Nada this year. Just as I suspected.

  12. I haven’t been blown away much either – only two so far this year. I like it that way though. It would be great if every book I read is amazing, but then that could mean I am probably over-rating books. I rarely visit blogs that mostly feature five-star reviews. I like a mixed bag – makes the five star reviews more believable. But yeah, 2 and 3 are probably a little on the low side. Two great books a month would have been a better stat.

  13. I don’t rate my books… I know that in January I read a bunch of stuff I loved. February was a bit less so and March I hardly read at all!

  14. No five star reads for me yet. Some good reads but nothing that has really blown me away. Love the way you started your day… A little walk, a good breakfast and more sleep time :) Hope you are having a great week!

  15. Well, as the post I’ve got scheduled about this book tags you anyway and demands that you read it, I suppose I can slightly spoil it and just tell you now: I crazy loved The People in the Trees and I think you would like it too. It was my most recent five-star read, and it was even starrier than five stars. I haven’t been able to return it to the library; I keep renewing it because I don’t want to let go of what an amazing reading experience it was.

    You know what it was like for me, although the two books couldn’t be more different? It was like reading A Tale for the Time Being: As soon as I started it, I thought, Oh damn, this is something special, I better pay good attention to this one. And I did and it was amazing.

  16. I find myself coveting the book about why students don’t like school. It’s the teacher in me. Down, Teacher! Down!

  17. I had to go look and though I gave some 5 stars to books that were more experiences than “reading”, the ONLY 5star I have had so far this year is The Rosie Project. But I am enjoying everyone’s comments here and I’m taking note. I just added the A.J. Fikry to my tbr and recently added The Martian which is intriguing me and I can’t wait to start Wills’ To Say Nothing of the Dog.
    I gave Beloved 5 stars a few years ago. Amazing.

Comments are closed.