Once Upon a Time VIII

onceup8275

To be honest with you, this reading “challenge” is one of the reasons why I continue to blog. I’ve been blogging for seven years and I’ve joined this event almost every year. If I remember correctly, it was Dewey who got me to join (she also got me to read Neil Gaiman and graphic novels too). Reading events and challenges like Once Upon a Time, Readers Imbibing Peril (R.I.P.), and Dewey’s Readathon always leave me feeling excited and breathless at their arrival.

Anyways. Here’s the details:

  • Once Upon a Time is an annual reading challenge hosted by Carl (Stainless Steel Droppings).
  • Readers can read from any of the four categories: Folklore, Fantasy, Fairy Tale, and Mythology.
  • It runs from March 21st – June 21st.
  • Participants pick how they want to participate from watching movies to reading short stories.
  • The only rule: have fun.

Since I can’t join a reading event of any kind without going overboard, I think I’ll join a quest or two.

once8jquest1
Rule: Read at least 5 books that fit somewhere within the four categories. It can be a combination or one book from each category. Readers decide.
My pile of books:

PicMonkey Collage

PicMonkey Collage1

  • A Snicker of Magic by Natalie Lloyd
  • The Memory Garden by Mary Rickert
  • Cress by Marissa Meyer
  • Ella Enchanted by Gail Levine
  • Midwinterblood by Marcus Sedgwick
  • Half World by Hiromi Goto

untitled

A reading event that includes watching movies or TV shows?! Hell yes! I do need some suggestions though.

So that’s what I’m going to read. What are you reading for Once Upon a Time VIII? You are going to join, right?

29 thoughts on “Once Upon a Time VIII

  1. I know my students have loved Ella, Enchanted but I’ve never read it. Perhaps this would be a good time to join you. Regardless, happy reading dear Vasilly!

  2. Oo, movie recommendations, I am all over this. Okay: The Fall. Coraline, Enchanted, Stardust, MirrorMask. That is a good bunch of films for you.

    I have lots of books I could read for this challenge! I can’t forget it this year like I have in the past, alas.

  3. Aw, Dewey reminders. sigh.

    Love the cover on the Memory Garden. Like the others, Ella Enchanted was great (it was the end of the book before I realized – Cinderella!) An audiobook version with kids is kinda awesome sounding.

  4. Cress! I need to read that too, but probably I should read Scarlet first. A fantasy book found. I am searching for the books for the challenge. My first time you see, and I’m not very much into these genres.

  5. Have a fun time with this challenge. Of the three events you shared, this is the one that I have not participated in. Not sure why, it is one I would enjoy. Anyway, enjoy your books. I really liked The Memory Garden.

  6. I love Carl’s challenges! I haven’t quiet decided if I join yet… Have fun with the challenge and can’t wait to hear what you think of your reads!

  7. I just started my list yesterday but I’m getting very excited for the books I’ve chosen! Ella Enchanted is on my list too because of the Chapter Book Challenge. It’ll be fun to read. :)

  8. I always admire the buttons for this and RIP. I have only joined a few times, somehow it doesn’t ‘stick’ for me and it falls apart. Not sure why. This year I’m going overboard with the Classics Challenge and loving it. Happy Challenge Reading!

  9. I have been watching you all from the sidelines for many years now. It’s clear that you’re having a blast. I’m going to review my TBR stack today and see if I have five books in it that will meet this challenge. I do like a fantasy novel now and then, but I’m not sure I can join in for five.

    But I will check….

  10. Looks like fun! I think I’ll join you. There are a couple of books that I want to read this spring that qualify. I’ll post later today.

    I liked Cress!

  11. To be honest, I didn’t realize how flexible this challenge was. I swore off challenges this year but this one is pulling me in. Probably because I love all the categories. I will have to think about it, but the pull is strong with this challenge.

Comments are closed.