Sunday Salon

sunday salon

Time: // 8: 00 a.m. Damn Daylight Savings time. I’m exhausted. At least I have some coffee.

The scene: // Sitting in my living room, most of the kids are asleep. The sun is shining and there are some awesome clouds in the sky.

Listening to: // “Out of My League” by Fitz and the Tantrums. Thanks to Bryan for the suggestion. Thanks to everyone for their music suggestions last week.

Listing: // my Memoir March list of books. I finally figured out what I’m going to read this month.

IMG_2360[1] (768x1024)

  • Red and Me: My Coach, My Lifelong Friend by Bill Russell – audio
  • Around the House and In the Garden by Dominique Browning
  • The Lost City of Z: A Tale of Deadly Obsession in the Amazon by David Grann
  • Random Family: Love, Drugs, Trouble, and Coming of Age in the Bronx by Adrian Nicole LeBlanc
  • Out of the Woods: A Memoir of Wayfinding by Lynn Darling
  • Maus by Art Spiegelman – (Maybe I’ll finally get to this one)
  • Woman Rebel: The Margaret Sanger Story by Peter Bagge
  • The Remedy: Robert Koch, Arthur Conan Doyle, and The Quest to Cure Tuberculosis by Thomas Goetz
  • Braiding Sweetgrass: Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge, and the Teachings of Plants by Robin Wall Kimmerer (recommended by Olduvai)
  • The Memory Palace by Mira Bartok
  • L.A. Son: My Life, My City, My Food by Roy Choi

I tried to pick some diverse reads, ranging from format (Woman Rebel and Maus are graphic novels) to experience.  I’m currently reading L.A. Son, a foodie memoir, and Out of the Woods. I’m really enjoying both of them.

Blogging about: // everything! I had one of those rare urges to write my ass off this week. I wrote graphic novels reviews, a review of The Perfect Score by Debbie Steir, and a wrap-up of my February reading.

Promoting: // Andi’s Book Nook guest post over on Relentless Reader. Since rearranging my apartment, I no longer have a book nook but it’s nice to look at everyone else’s.

Also promoting: // When the Universe Ain’t Talking by QuinnCreative. I’ve been in a rut for a while now and this post came at a perfect time.  It’s about when you have to wait for an answer from the Universe and you just.can’t.wait.

You should also read: // Buried in Print’s Boy, Snow, Bird by Helen Oyeyemi.

Now I’m off to: // relax a bit before I spend the day doing homework.

What are you up to today? Any suggestions on how to get out of a rut?

24 thoughts on “Sunday Salon

  1. You were “into” writing this week, I was “into” reading. How will it play out this week?

    If I were you, I’d always be exhausted. Reading, writing, homework, homeschooling etc. It exhausts me to even think about all that you do. :)

  2. I’m excited to read your thoughts on The Lost City of Z; it’s one I’ve toyed with reading for years but have yet to pick up.

  3. I actually haven’t listened to the new album by Fitz & The Tantrums much. I guess I need to give it a listen here (cuing up Google Play Music)…as for what I’m up to today and getting out of a rut, I’m going to take a nap and settle into my normal rut so I can’t tell you about getting out of one. ;) However, seriously, I’m hoping the weather here will help. I know that good weather always helps…as does sometimes unplugging from being online, even if it’s for a day or two each week. This week I’ve been learning how to “drop the phone” and just relax and read, or maybe more accurately trying to learn how to do that.

  4. Does anyone like the time change? So annoying. Really hated it when I had kids at home. Threw everything up in the air.

  5. Looks like some great reading!

    I put “have adventures” on a goal list once and started tracking every time that I took a class, went to a new restaurant, visited a museum. It made a big difference! And, I do think time goes a little slower, oddly enough, when we make time to do things that aren’t the same old thing.

  6. That’s a nice list of books. I’ve got Woman Rebel waiting for me at the library (it was supposed to be for Graphic Novels Month but took pretty much the whole month to get to me!) so I’m looking forward to reading that.

  7. I’m not a fan of daylight savings time either! I totally overslept and my coffee machine died today. Grrr… Thank goodness for good books! Enjoy your memoir month!

  8. You have tons of awesome sounding memoirs! I actually have a copy of Random Family around here somewhere. I’m glad someone else hasn’t gotten to Maus yet! It’s been on my tbr list forever!

  9. Thanks for the book nook shout out! My office is starting to look like a junkyard, but post-wedding we are ON IT! I shall have a readable book nook. Even if it’s not as cool as the ones I wrote about. :)

  10. Time: // 7:12 am

    The scene: // Sitting at my desk at work before it gets crazy busy.

    Listening to: // Zero 7 Radio on Pandora. I love listening to it in the am.

    Listing: // Reports for work. Yuck!

    Blogging about: // My usual. Nothing new just trying to keep status quo.

    Promoting: // Nothing just yet. Hhmm!

    You should also read: // Ade by Rebecca Walker. I just finished it, reviewed it and I can’t stop telling people to read it.

    Now I’m off to: // work. After I jump to a few more blog post. LOL! Then make something to eat for breakfast.

    Love the list of memoirs. I wish I could read that many books in a month. I am happy to get more than 4 done. I have to Fitz and the Tantrums. I love finding out about new music. My newest find is Santigold. Kinda like M.I.A.

  11. Yes, damn daylight savings. I’m still not recovered from it.

    I love your memoir stack! The Memory Palace especially is one that I want to read.

Comments are closed.