Sunday Salon: Thank God for this Three-Day Weekend

sunday salon

Time: // 7: 30 a.m.

The scene: // at my kitchen table, drinking coffee. The kids are watching TV in the living room and playing with the Nook.

Listening to: // Spotify’s Jazzy Romance playlist.

Reading: // everything! Earlier this week, I checked out a ton of books from the library: non-fiction, graphic novels, and children’s books.  Thanks to our lovely three-day weekend, I’m trying to read as much as possible. So far, I read six children’s books and four graphic novels. I plan on reading a few more graphic novels and maybe unreading two non-fiction books that are due back at the library this week. Anyone care to join me for Comics Sunday?

Thinking about: // next month’s reading theme. This month was graphic novels and I ended up reading a lot of books from the library instead of my own stack. It’s been pretty fun though. I think next month’s theme for me will have something to do with tackling my tbr mountain. I also realized that I’ve been neglecting my Project Fill-in-the-Gaps list, so I may focus on my list next month but only the books I own.

Blogging about: // love, what else? I shared a poem on Valentine’s Day from Naomi Shihab Nye called “San Antonio”.

Hating: // vertigo. I’m so dizzy right now. Hopefully, it’ll go away soon.

Loving: // Lettermo. There’s two weeks left in the month and I plan on sending out a dozen or so letters. On Friday, I wrote a letter that was about five pages long to my little brother. I’m sure he’s going to be surprised.

Thankful for: // my family. I love those guys.

Now I’m off to:// make waffles. I hope you all enjoy your Sunday.

What are you up to today?

22 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: Thank God for this Three-Day Weekend

  1. Sounds great! I’ve ended up procrastinating most of the morning (except for shoveling snow out of the driveway) trying to write some reviews that I haven’t done any reading!

  2. I hope you feel better soon! As for reading, comic weekend sounds great! I’ve been getting into graphic novels more and more. I just finished the Strange Girl Omnibus this week and have two more waiting. I’ve been out with the leg injury for months and it’s given me an opportunity to really catch up on reading, so I understand about how nice a 3 day weekend is! And I’ve begun to really enjoy the library again. Have a great weekend! (stop by Chicks with Books this week- it’s my Blogoversary! and you’re invited!)

  3. Vertigo. I know it was a pretty good movie, but I can’t imagine in real life, it’s very much fun. Hope you’ll get better here later.

    I need to work on my TBR pile, but luckily it’s not too large right now, probably under 50, maybe even under 30, if I don’t count the graphic novels (mostly Batman and Superman) that my brother-in-law gave me recently. I should read some of them today, but probably won’t. I do have a book to read so most likely will get that to later…with a nap tossed in for good measure.

  4. I am hoping to do a reading day of sorts today, too! I have been neglecting my pile of graphic novels. I start The House of Mystery series last night and I like it so far!

  5. I’ve had a lot of vertigo this year, too. Oh dear. Could it be related to excessive reading? Say it isn’t so.

  6. Sounds like a great weekend–minus the vertigo! I’m really loving Comics Februrary as well and have just started Castle Waiting. Both girls are up now so I probably won’t read anymore until bedtime or tomorrow at nap. I hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday weekend!

  7. I know this extra day feels so so necessary this week.

    I’m sorry that you’re dealing with vertigo! I hope you feel better soon.

    The good thing about Comics February is that it’s keeping me entertained while I’m reading books off my shelves. Usually I get bored because I don’t have choices, but this month at least if I’m bored by what’s on my shelves I can read a comic or two.

  8. Great response to Reading “Everything” I hope you’re feeling better! I don’t now a lot about Vertigo, but I know it’s extremely unpleasant.

    I’ very interested in ‘Lettermo’ which you mentioned. I’ve always adored writing letters to fiends and family but very few people write great letters in return. This is despite telling me how much they enjoyed my letter!

    I hope you’re having a good week.

Comments are closed.