Sunday Salon

sunday salonTime: // 8:02 p.m. Saturday night

The scene: // hanging out in my living room with the heater on and some pretty tulips on my table

4959061Currently Reading: // so many books right now. I think I’ll spend the next week trying to get through most of them. I set aside The Disappearing Spoon by Sam Kean and An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth by Col. Chris Hadfield to pick up Why Don’t Students Like School? by Daniel T. Willingham. Willingham is a psychologist who writes about how our minds work and how our theories about thinking can help or hinder kids in school. It’s really interesting.  I’m also rereading The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan with one of my sons. Bryan read the series a few weeks ago and it made me want to read the first book again.

Setting aside last Sunday to dive into graphic novels felt great. I may have to do that every Sunday in February. Last Sunday I read Jane, the Fox, and Me by Franny Britt and Isabelle Arsenault along with A Matter of Life by Jeffrey Brown, and Aphrodite by George O’Connor.

Blogging about: // nothing. I haven’t had the time to write a post. Maybe I’ll review the books I mentioned above.

Promoting: // a few fantastic posts I read this week. M over at Buried in Print wrote about kidlit especially the books she read as a child and current children’s books.

Jenny (Reading the End) wrote another Stuff to Worry About Post about the plague that’s currently affecting starfish. It’s fascinating and pretty sad.

Bryan (Still Unfinished) wrote about his progress on his 2014 goals. It made me remember that not only have I lost my list of resolutions, I don’t remember what they are! At least I remember my word for this year: Leap.

As much as I like bookish posts, I love posts about happiness and gratitude even more. Iliana (Bookgirl) recently wrote about the things that make her happy. It doesn’t take much to make most people happy.

Last but not least is the latest issue of Bloggers Recommend which you can find here. The issue is the best looking one to date. It includes author interviews, excerpts of upcoming releases, and of course book blurbs.

Now I’m off to: // do homeworking, lesson planning, and of course make some waffles.

What are you up to today?

20 thoughts on “Sunday Salon

  1. Sorry to comment so quickly, but I got a pingback notification (thanks by the way for the double mention).

    I also drafted my post last night as I usually do…or try to do, sometimes earlier in week if feeling the inspiration (not often, though).

    So what are you leaping for anyway? :) Joy, I hope, although I admit it’s hard this winter.

    1. You know, I didn’t think to leap for joy. I’m just taking a huge big leap of faith and hope that with everything I’m doing (homeschooling, school, and just life in general), I’ll land on my feet. :-)

  2. The Lightning Thief is one of those series that I’m pretty sure I will love, so I’m saving it for when I need a really good book that I know will suck me right in.

  3. I need to write more of those posts where I reflect on the things that make me happy and thankful. Usually I come up with more than I expect, and that makes me even *happier.* LOL!

  4. Well, I really must check out Why Students Don’t Like School. Thank you for sharing it, Natasha.

    And, of course, you are right….You just can’t follow me in any other way!

    It’s not raining here, but I just spent a misty, cool afternoon in Galveston.

  5. I most definitely need to read Why don’t Students like School; that sounds fascinating. I wonder if it would apply to college students.

  6. So you’ve got a copy of Aphrodite: nice! I’m (we’re) behind on that series, but I’m looking forward to catching up with it. I was dabbling in Brooke Gladstone’s The Influencing Machine yesterday, so unintentionally joining you in your Sunday filled with GNs. Hope it becomes a trend for you! (Thanks for the shoutout for my Seriously, Kidlit series: much appreciated.)

  7. I’ve had a pretty busy week too – I am so behind on blogging. I like the sound of that book – I will be waiting to hear your thoughts.

  8. Of course, make waffles! :D Can’t wait to hear more about the students not liking school. I love that you read books like this so you can point me to them! Thanks

Leave a Reply

