Sunday Salon

sunday salonTime: // 7:29 am

The scene: // At my desk with my first cup of coffee, while listening to Gregory Porter’s album,  Be Good.

What’s going on:// I’m anticipating the chaos of this week. Today, I have to submit the kids’ grades to their charter school. When I decide to homeschool my kids (ages 8, 10, and 12), I didn’t think of grades (and still don’t really). Instead, I try to help the kids master the subjects they’re taking without the pressure of getting top grades. I need to finish up since today’s the deadline.

In case you missed my last post, February is Graphic Novels Month. There’s so many people participating and everyone’s welcome. I already finished my first comic: Aphrodite by George O’Connor. I hope I get through my stack this month, but there’s always March. The twitter hashtag is #comicsfebruary.

Between homeschooling and reading graphic novels, I have school myself. The first day of the spring semester starts tomorrow. Luckily one of my class websites opened up yesterday, so I’ve gotten a head start on this week’s homework and studying.

17214302

Today’s plans: // include missing the Super Bowl to do some studying and reading for pleasure. Lu and I decided to have a mini comics readathon today. My stack includes A Matter of Time by Jeffrey Brown and Jane, the Fox, and Me by Franny Britt.

I’m not just reading comics this month so Sam Kean’s The Disappearing Spoon is in today’s stack. Its subtitle: And Other True Tales of Madness, Love, and the History of the World from the Periodic Table of the Elements tells it all. A plus for this book is that it’s so readable. I wasn’t sure if a book about chemistry would be.

Now I’m off to: // make waffles, sausages, and eggs for breakfast. What are you up to today?

19 thoughts on “Sunday Salon

  1. I’m up to Super Bowl today! We’re having a going-away party for my dear cousin, and then we’re going to watch at least part of the Super Bowl, until I get bored of Peyton Manning’s toe face and go home in a huff. :p

  2. Wish I could join you for breakfast! It’s going to be a quite day of reading and blogging, then we’ll go to my sister’s to watch the Super Bowl. I have every intention of sneaking away when it’s time for Downton Abbey :)

  3. I am planning to do some graphic novel reading this evening, too. :) I usually at least watch the half-time show at the Super Bowl, but not sure if I will this year.

  4. It’s amazing that you even find time to read with all the commitments you have between homeschooling your kids and your own schooling. You’re the second person today that I’ve seen that is doing this #comicsfebruary. I guess these comics/graphic novels are pretty popular, huh? ;)

    Today, maybe a little reading, but of course, watching Groundhog Day tonight instead of the Super Bowl. Mostly reading Sunday Salon, other book blog related blog posts this afternoon…and so far, including yours, they’ve all been good.

  5. I hope Jane, The Fox and Me is a great read. That cover and title are just so great. Not watching any sports in this household thank goodness. Hopefully just getting in a bit more reading :)

  6. Graphic novels instead of football sounds good to me. We recorded the game — in a bit will have a soup-er bowl of soup and watch the commercials!

  7. I hate the end of quarter times! Not sure if you have to there, but here we have to write a quarterly report. And yeah, the grades. :( It just feels so arbitrary sometimes…all I care is that they’re learning, and even more important that they’re learning to think critically and learning how to find and evaluate the information they need. *sigh* At least it’s over for another quarter now, huh? :)
    Hope your Sunday was enjoyable and relaxing!!!!
    Oooh, and I’ve had The Disappearing Spoon for a while but haven’t got around to reading it–glad to hear that it’s so readable. To be honest, I think I’ve partly been putting it off because I was afraid it wouldn’t be.

  8. I am full of admiration for you – homeschooling three kids and going to school yourself? Amazing!

    And love the cover and sound of Jane, the Fox, and Me. Must find it!

  9. Wow, homeschooling 3 kids. I’m impressed. I don’t think I could have done that with my kids. I’ve started Don’t Know Much About History. 2 chapters in. Very interesting so far.

  10. Jane, the Fox, and Me has a lovely cover and it has me curious. Enjoy your graphic novels reading for the month! While I am not officially committing myself to it, I hope to read a few of them in the coming weeks!

  11. I soooo want to read J,tF&m: it’s crazy. Will settle for hearing your thoughts for now. And grades? Gah, I’m so glad it doesn’t work that way here: you’re supposed to cover curriculum but can follow your own system for marking progress and successes. Good luck with all the school-stuff and the reading too!

Leave a Reply

