Graphic Novels Month

I’ve spent most of January waiting for February and now it’s here! Graphic Novels Month! It’s the brainchild of Debi and Chris. Last February, the two decided to just read graphic novels and it was a hit. They’re bringing it back again this month and I’m so excited to join them along with a few other readers.

Picture 793Boxers & Saints by Gene Luen Yang

Explorer: The Lost Islands by Kazu Kibuishi

Castle Waiting by Linda Medley

Castle Waiting 2 by Linda Medley

Tommysaurus Rex by Doug TenNapel

A Matter of Life by Jeffrey Brown

Aphrodite: Goddess of Love (The Olympians series) by George O’Connor

Jane, the fox & me by Franny Britt

Letting It Go by Miriam Katin

What it is by Lynda Barry

Picture This by Lynda Barry

That’s a pretty small stack compared to other participants (ha!), but it’s going to keep me busy. The only new-to-me authors in the stack are Franny Britt and Jeffrey Brown while Castle Waiting and What it is are both re-reads. I’m so excited. My first read will be Aphrodite by George O’Connor.

Are you joining Graphic Novels Month?

27 thoughts on “Graphic Novels Month

  1. I wasn’t going to but your post is so very very tempting. I mean Castle Waiting? Loved it! Boxers and Saints? Fantastic! And Kazu Kibushi! Ok I have to go request stuff from my library now…

  2. I love Castle Waiting too! I reread it last February, and now you’ve sort got me wanting to reread it again. You know, because I don’t have enough books already pulled out. :P Really liked Boxers and Saints, and I strongly suspect you will too. Have you read other books from the Olympians series? My son has some of those, but I hadn’t even thought of grabbing them (not sure why!). Oh, and I really can’t wait to hear what you think of Letting It Go. I really loved We Are On Our Own, and it always makes me think of Dewey. She’s one of the biggest reasons I ever started reading graphic novels.

  3. Ooo, so many I haven’t heard of! You’re totally tempting me to prove all of today’s post (about how I don’t use the library because I can never return things on time!) wrong and go grab a great stack of graphic novels from the library!

  4. I love that you love graphic novels. I’ve never (never) been able to get into them.

  5. I just read a graphic novel today and I didn’t even know about Graphic Novels Month! I am so ahead of the curve. ;) lol I read The Unearthing of Lily Chen. There is a review on my blog if you want to check it out. It’s a dark, rather morbid tale with some humor thrown in for spice.

  6. You all really seem like a gleeful bunch of kids with big stacks of comic books and time on your hands. I’m a little envious. I read The Essential Calvin and Hobbes over Winter Break, does that count? ;-)

  7. I like James’s comment above, about how we all seem like a gleeful bunch of kids with our big stacks of comic books – because YES. That is exactly how I feel!! I haven’t been this excited for a whole month of reading in a loooong time. Happy reading!

  8. I’m not doing Graphic Novels month just because I don’t trust my library to have enough graphic novels that I want to read available for checkout all at the same time. But I am looking forward to getting lots of recommendations from everyone else!

  9. Is Picture This a new Lynda Barry? I loved What It is… Must look for this one! Hope you have a blast and look forward to some great recommendations.

  10. I really liked Castle Waiting, too. Recently I read Kazu Kibuishi’s Amulet, all 5 volumes, from my son’s shelves. Does manga count for Graphic Novels month? My sons have a huge stash that I haven’t read and perhaps I could join, even though I surely won’t be doing it exclusively as there’s my TBR pile to attend to. :)

  11. I just added Castle Waiting to my stack as well! It’s long but I’m looking forward to it. Hope you enjoy these! I’ve been so looking forward to this month.

  12. I am not officially participating because I typically read a good chunk of graphic novels throughout the year now. I am loving seeing everyone’s piles though because I have been in need of some new recommendations. Thanks to your pile, I just remembered that my son got Tommysaurus Rex for his birthday and I have yet to read that one. I need to sneak it out of his room!!

  13. This is such a great idea!! I have a few graphic novels to work on this month, but if I had known about this ahead of time I definitely would’ve dedicated more to it. Have fun!!

Comments are closed.