Short Review: God got a dog by Cynthia Rylant

41oDJwYUDzLGod got a dog

Written by Cynthia Rylant

Illustrated by Marla Frazee

48 pages

Published in October 2013 by Beach Lane Books

Source: Public Library

I didn’t know what to expect from Cynthia Rylant’s latest book, God Got a Dog. I just knew that the title was interesting and I wanted to see what it was about. Man, what a good book.

God Got a Dog is a collection of poems written by Rylant and illustrated by the talented Marla Frazee. In each poem, God does something different: gets a dog, goes to the doctor, and catches a cold. The poems are touching and humorous, perfect for both kids and adults alike. I plan on buying my own copy as soon as possible. My rating: 5 out of 5 stars.

God got a desk job

Just to see what it

would be like.

Made Her back hurt.

God’s always had a

bad back anyway-

the weight of the world

and all that,

She thought Her job was tough,

till She sat at a desk all day.

It was torture.

She could feel the Light

Inside Her grow

dimmer and dimmer

and She thought that

if She had to pick

up that phone

one more time,

She’d just start the

whole Armageddon thing

people keep talking about.

(Not Her idea, not Her plan,

but in a pinch, She’s

sure She could come up

with something.)

The only thing that got

Her through to the

end of the day was

Snickers bars.

She ate thirty-seven.

Plus thinking about the Eagle Nebula

in the constellation Serpens.

That helped.

13 thoughts on “Short Review: God got a dog by Cynthia Rylant

  1. What’s the earlier Rylant book that reminds me of that? Something about a beauty shop? Let me go check….

    Okay, here goes…God Went to Beauty School. You just don’t hear much about these titles here. Curious.

  2. Ooooh, I want, I want, I want! I love that poem you shared! And I read a book of her poetry called Boris, which was all about one of her cats, and I totally loved it!

  3. I really like that poem – I think funny poems are way underrated. I say this as I eat my lunch at my desk at my office job ;)

  4. I love the suggestions you included for me Chez Bellezza, this one included. Cynthia Rylant is such a lovely author, and I have read Dog Heaven by her many times. Just last month I gave it to my mother who lost her four year old “puppy” to an intestinal issue. Anyway, I haven’t known about Dog Got A Dog, and clearly I need to get it. My class (and I) have loved Cheech’s book Love That Dog. I even am crazy about Hate That Cat, which I don’t. :)

Comments are closed.