Bout of Books Read-a-thon 9.0 New Update

bout of booksIt’s here! The ninth Bout of Books read-a-thon! This will be my first time joining the event and I’m pretty excited. Here’s some info about the event:

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 6th and runs through Sunday, January 12th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 9.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. - From the Bout of Books team

We’re almost a week into 2014 and I haven’t finished a book yet. This needs to change. Bout of Books would be the perfect way to help me jumpstart my reading.

My goals:

  • to finish the four books I’m currently reading.
  • to read every day. I need to get back into the habit of daily reading.

My Books:

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt – I’m about halfway through.

The Boy on the Porch by Sharon Creech

Finding Your Element by Ken Robinson (non-fiction)

The Golden Day by Ursula Dubosarsky

You would think I would have finished one of these books by now. Instead, I’ve been doing things like watching Fringe and X-Files season six on Netflix and playing Just Dance 2014. Have some priorities, Vasilly. I would have taken a picture of my books but it’s 5:30 in the morning and no coffee in sight just yet. The pictures will come later, I promise.

Are you joining the Bout of Books event?

Tuesday morning update

hadfieldGuys, I’m starting to think I’m hopeless. I started another book instead of finishing one that I’ve already started reading. Actually, I started two books yesterday: An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth by Col. Chris Hadfield and The Perfect Score Project by Debbie Stier. Both are pretty good so far. But today, I’m going to buckle down and read The Golden Day, one of the books on my stack. I have a few things to do outside the home today so I’m bringing it with me. Wish me luck. I’m going to need it.

Saturday morning update

You guys! I finished a book! Finally! Trying to do Bout-of-Books the same week that school has started back, hasn’t been a great idea but I’m making progress. I finished The Golden Day by Ursula Dubosarksy. It was a quiet but good read. It’s been labeled as YA but it’s really an adult book. I’m write more about it next week. Now I’m on to continuing another book I’ve started: To The End of June: The Intimate Life of American Foster Care by Cris Beam. After multiple renewals, it’s due back at the library Tuesday.

If you’re doing Bout of Books, how’s your progress going?

20 thoughts on “Bout of Books Read-a-thon 9.0 New Update

  1. I have 4 days off this week. Readathon sounds like a great idea! 5 days in and I finally finished my first book. Good luck with your reading.

  2. I’m hoping this readathon is going to help me refocus. Like you said, I need to get back into daily reading. I read almost everyday, but I definitely don’t use lunch hours and evening hours to their utmost.

  3. This will be my first Bout of Books, too, although I’ve previously done other week-long readathons. I’ve managed to not finish any books yet, either, as I’ve been hopping promiscuously between 4 of 5 titles all week.

    Best of luck!

  4. That’s one of my reading resolutions this year, too – to read something very day. I’m finishing up my third book of the year (The Rosie Project). The Goldfinch is up next! Maybe I should sign up for the Bout of Books …

  5. Have fun! I need to get back into reading daily as well. lol about watching X-Files on Netflix! I’ve been watching it from the start with my daughter. Soooo happy she enjoys the series too.

  6. I keep picking up new books instead of continuing with others too. It’s such a bad habit and it’s not like it even reflects badly on the books – they’re all good, I just want to read everything. I did finish one today though (woohoo!). Have a great week :)

  7. Good luck with your goals!! This is my second time participating and I’m starting out the week with some short books & graphic novels to really feel successful to begin with!!

  8. I just stopped by Molly’s blog and now I have a little more insight into why I shy away from big book….I’m a scanner. I want to have lots of short intense experiences rather than one long one.

Comments are closed.