My first read of 2014

first book of the year eventSheila over at A Book Journey asked readers which book will be their first read of the year. Read below to find out what I chose as my first read of 2014.

It’s almost a superstition to believe that the first book of the year can make or break your reading for the year. Almost. Last year, the first book I read was a children’s book. So were the next three or four books. The start of 2013 was a hectic time and I didn’t have the energy or interest to find anything long and/or engaging.

It’s a new year and things are pretty settled for now. So what should I pick? Do I chose something that’s been sitting on my shelves for ages? Maybe I should go with a library book? After a week or two of indecision, I picked up Ursula Dubosarsky’s slim book, The Golden Day, and read the first page,

dubosarsky

The year began with the hanging of one man and ended with the drowning of another. But every year people die and their ghosts roam in the public gardens, hiding behind the gray, dark statues like wild cats, their tiny footprints and secret breathing muffled by the sound of falling water in the fountains and the quiet ponds.

The Golden Day is about a classroom of girls who go on a field trip with their teacher but return without her. The teacher never returns and the girls are left wondering what happened. I’m in the middle of several books but I can’t wait to start reading this.

What is your first read of 2014 going to be?

44 thoughts on “My first read of 2014

  1. What does it say about my reading year that my first book will almost certainly be Vampire Academy??? Haha! My sister gave it to me for Christmas because it is one of her favorite series, so I think it’s a good choice, even if it’s not what I plan on reading the rest of the year. I have never heard of The Golden Day, but it sounds so so interesting! And I do love the opening!

  2. Sounds interesting. I neger thiught much about the first book ofvtge year, but I think I’ll put some thought into that. Wouldn’t it be great if all the books were great reads.

  3. I’m already in the middle of The Humans by Matt Haig (also Vatican Waltz by Roland Merullo and Twelve Tribes of Hattie by Ayana Mathis, but let’s not mention that) so I guess that will be my first book of 2014 (unless I finish one of the other two first since I started them first.)

  4. I wish I had gotten my act together to sign up for this challenge! On the other hand, I’ve spent most of the day organizing my house, not reading, so I’m not sure I will even finish a book today. That’s ok though — I needed to get things put away so I could feel more settled going into January.

  5. I started a nonfiction that I’ve been meaning to get to forever – which means it will also count for Long-Awaited-Reads, too. However. I keep getting distracted by words and concepts and though I’m in only 35 pages, I’ve spent more time on Wiki looking things up! It’s short and it’s supposed to snow so let’s hope tomorrow I get more actually page-turning in.

  6. I haven’t heard of this one, but the quote makes it sound perfect for a “first book of the year,” and the premise is intriguing. Hope you enjoy it!

  7. Happy New 2014!!!

    My first book is going to be non-fiction. Turn Up the Heat. Boosting your Metabolism with body appropriate eating habits. Your book sounds soo much more exciting than mine. :)

  8. The Golden Day sounds very intriguing. As for me, I started the latest Jack Reacher in the afternoon of new year’s eve, and finished it the morning of new year’s day.

  9. My first books of 2014 have all been research books. Well, nearly. My first non-research book of 2014 was maybe Janet Malcolm’s In the Freud Archives, and I wasn’t that hot on it. Could’ve lived without it. But the research books have been great! I am learning all sorts of information about Victorian lady scientists and the people trying to stop Victorian ladies from doing science.

  10. I hope the first book sets the tone for the year. My first was Queen of the Road. A travel book. Yes!

Comments are closed.