The Goldfinch Read-along

tarttThings would have turned out better if she had lived. As it was, she died when I was a kid; and though everything that’s happened to me since then is thoroughly my own fault, still when I lost her I lost sight of any landmark that might have led me someplace happier, to some more populated or congenial life.

Theo’s right; his life probably would have been much better if his mother had lived. So much wouldn’t have happened but yet much of it wasn’t his fault.

I usually don’t read books in which a child has lost their parent and life is drastically changed. As a single mother, it’s one of my worst fears and the story is usually heartbreaking. I forgot that detail (as big as it is), when I agreed to read The Goldfinch.

This post is a few days late and I’m still only halfway through Theo’s absorbing story. For those of you who are reading the book or have finished, what is your opinion of the book? What stands out? What do you love (or hate) about it? 

6 thoughts on “The Goldfinch Read-along

  1. The Goldfinch and The Secret History are two of the best books I read all year. Tartt really knows how to write a story with great characters. I didn’t think I’d be able to finish TG before the end of the year (if you remember), but I finished the whole thing within a week. So good.

  2. Like Heather, I had a hard time setting the book aside and finished The Goldfinch in about a week when I read it earlier this year. I immediately wanted to pick it up again and felt so much jealousy towards others who were beginning to read it for the first time (like I’m feeling toward those of you reading it right now). I was just so absorbed into Theo’s world and the brilliant characters Tartt filled it with. Hands down my favorite book of the year.

  3. I’m not that much in either but it’s captivating. I will have to put it down for a few days while I read another review book but I’m hoping to be done with it by early next week. It is amazing!

  4. Just by coincidence I am reading this right now. I’m not sure that i love it. I’m less than halfway through and while I often like the reading, it is very detailed and dense and I’m wondering how i will feel in another 300 pages.

  5. Yay – I finished! and another friend read it to at almost the same pace and we were able to discuss it over coffee. She loved loved loved adored it and as much as I was pulled into it and can really admire Tartt’s skill, I give it a high 4 star out of 5. Still, a great book and amazing characters and story-telling.

Leave a Reply

