Podcasts for Bicycles by Nikki Giovanni

Podcasts for Bicycles

 

I loved before

I understood;

Love is a skill

 

I loved my Mother’s cool hands

On my forehead

 

I loved the safety

Of her arms

I trusted

Before I understood

The word

 

Mommy would say

When I had fallen:

“Come here, Nikki,

and I’ll pick you up”

 

and I would wipe my eyes

push myself off my fat bottom

and tottle over to her

for my reward:

a kiss and a “That’s my Big Girl!”

 

I am still a sucker

For that one

 

But I grew up

And learned

Trust and love

Are crafts we practice

Are wheels

We balance

Our lives on

 

Are BICYCLES

We ride

Through challenges and changes

 

To escape and ecstasy

-from Chasing Utopia: A Hybrid by Nikki Giovanni

giovanni utopia

5 thoughts on “Podcasts for Bicycles by Nikki Giovanni

Leave a Reply

