2014 Chunkster Challenge

chunkster challenge 2014aChunkster Challenge

Hosted by me but on this blog

January 1 – December 31, 2014

A few days ago I mentioned that the Chunkster Challenge will be back in 2014. Even though I’m the host, this challenge is well, a challenge. Chunksters can be intimidating because of their size and the time needed to read them. So that made me think long and hard about the rules and there’s been some changes.

  • Audio books and e-books are now allowed. You want to listen to a chunkster on audio? Be my guest.
  • There won’t be any levels in 2014. It’s up to participants to decide how many chunksters they want to read.

If you want to know the other rules, go to next year’s sign-up page.

For the Chunkster Challenge, I’m trying to stick to my tbr pile. I need to tackle that sucker in 2014. I’m hoping to read a chunkster a month. I’m calling my reading pool the “pool of shame” since most of these books have been on my shelves for years people.

Learning to Lose by David Trueba

The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck.  Every year I say I’m going to read this book and never do.

Best American Short Stories of the Century edited by John Updike. If I can read a short story or two a week, I can finish this book in 2014.

oneillAmerican Food Writing: An Anthology with Classic Recipes edited by Molly O’Neill. Guys, it took me years to find this book at a reasonable price. I found it for a dollar years ago and never read it.

Thinking, Fast and Slow by Daniel Kahnman (nonfiction)

Redeemers: Ideas and Power in Latin America by Enrique Krauze

Far From the Tree by Andrew Solomon. Last year I went on and on about this book and never finished it.

Miss Anne in Harlem: The White Women of the Black Renaissance by Carla Kaplan

Life after Life by Kate Atkinson

Don’t Know Much about History by Kenneth C. Davis

The Street Sweeper by Eliot Perlman

What to Look For in Winter: A Memoir in Blindness by Canadia McWilliam

The Iliad by Homerlamb

We Are Water by Wally Lamb

A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving

The Jinni and the Golem by Helene Wrecker. I started this book a few weeks ago and didn’t finish.

Unless I have a spectacular reading year in 2014, there will be a few of these that I won’t get to. The ones I don’t read, I’m giving away.

Will you join the Chunkster Challenge?

12 thoughts on “2014 Chunkster Challenge

  1. I have a “pool of shame” too. I was thinking of “un-reading” them as someone else mentioned, but even with eliminating the books that I thought I would want to read, but really didn’t hold my interest I still have plenty in the pool. I hate to admit it, but I even have the new translation of War & Peace sitting there.

    OK, you have motivated me to challenge myself. I’m going to look at those chunkster’s in my pile and set a goal. AND sign up for the Chunkster challenge!

    Great post! Nice selection of books in your pile too!

  2. Good luck tackling these! I didn’t make a list, but I have no shortage of chunksters on my TBR pile! Life After Life by Kate Atkinson didn’t feel like a chunkster at all. I loved it!

  3. I *think* I might join…informally. I don’t want to commit to a certain number, but I think I’ll do “let’s see how many chunksters I can read in a year.”

    I have a pile of books that I’ve owned forever (but haven’t read), too. Heh.

  4. I have several of these chunksters. The Illiad, The Grapes of Wrath, Don’t Know Much About History, and a Short Story anthology. Maybe read together for encouragement?

  5. I’m pretty sure I’m going to join in. I have so many chunksters which are turning into shelf sitters. I must get to them soon and this is the perfect way! For some reason I always think a classic is a perfect choice for this challenge. Thanks for hosting!

  6. Pingback: Sunday Salon | 1330v

  7. I like the way you think. That’s what I do now. If I don’t get around to a book in a reasonable time, I give it away.

    I’m planning to reread Grapes of Wrath next year. I’m not sure what else. I’m not much of a chunkster reader.

Comments are closed.