December goals and what I’m currently reading

It’s scary how December is here already! It seems like 2013 may be the fastest year ever. One minute it was January and I was rolling out my resolutions and now it’s December and I’m not halfway done with my list. What is that about?

I figured that I should share my December goals in hopes of being bullied motivated in keeping them. I need all the help I can get.

1. Finish reading the last stack of solicited review copies. There are only 10 books left so that should be do-able. Next year, I plan on reading only my own books and those from the library.

2. Post 2014 sign-ups for the Chunkster Challenge blog. I will be taking over the challenge from Wendy next year.

3. Post more regularly. This year has been so busy that I haven’t been able to blog that much. If I can post at least three times a week, I’m happy.

That’s my list, short but simple.

Currently reading

patchettThanksgiving break has come to an end and I didn’t read as much as I wanted to. I was too busy fighting a cold. Currently I’m reading Ann Patchett’s essay collection, This is The Story of a Happy Marriage. The title story is so beautiful, so honest that I read the whole thing aloud. This is my first time reading something by the author. I tried and fail to get through more than a few pages of Bel Canto. Sometimes reading an author’s non-fiction work is a better experience than reading their fiction.

I’m still dipping in and out of Why Teach? by Mark Edmundson. Essay and short story collections are the only works where readers can weave in and out of as time allows. It’s perfect for me during this hectic season.

What are you reading/watching/listening to this week?

21 thoughts on “December goals and what I’m currently reading

  1. I know what you mean! There are several authors, Michael Chabon and Nick Hornby pop in mind first, that I haven’t had much luck with their fiction but really like their non-fiction. Hope you have a productive December!

  2. Hahaha, I clicked over to your blog from my email and thought my computer got a virus. Then I realized the dots scrolling down my screen are snow. Thanks for the laugh. lol

    good luck with your December goals. Very manageable. 3 times a week posting is my goal too now that I’m back to blogging. Any more than that and its difficult for both writer and blog reader. I need to work more diligently on my travel blog as that is my life goal.

    Too bad you didn’t like Bel Canto. It was one I really enjoyed for some reason. I don’t even like opera. I tried reading her book Run first and couldn’t finish it. I was surprised I liked Bel Canto.

  3. It’s amazing how time just creeps up on you and then you have no time left! Good luck with your now goals! I’ve been posting more regularly and am happy with at least twice a week!

    I think I’m going to have to read that Ann Patchett book now- you made it sound wonderful. And one of my goals is to use the library more. I’ve got a great eReader library source and my library has a great selection of books, so why not?! It’s hard though when I read a really great book not to have the physical copy, but that’s what wish lists are for ;-)

  4. I am reading the Patchett book and can read other books at the same time as her book is a collection of some of her essays. Most are about writing and very insightful and helpful.

    Good luck with your new year’s resolutions for the blog!

    Harvee
    Book Dilettante

  5. I hope your cold resolves without smiting you too hard! I, too, got less reading done over Thanksgiving than I was hoping. But I got LOTS of football watched. :p

    It’s good to hear that you’re enjoying the Ann Patchett — I’m up and down on her (fiction and nonfiction both), but my mother has asked for the Marriage book for Christmas, so I want it to be good if she does get it.

  6. It sounds like a lot of us are focusing on reading more of our own books for 2014. That was my goal and then i requested a whole whack of books from NetGalley for January. Oops.

  7. I just started the Ann Patchett book too. I’ve enjoyed her novels, but always as audiobooks, for some reason! This one I’m reading in print. I’m so behind for 2013 in my blog and other book projects, it’s hard to even joke about it! Even though I only signed up for one year-long challenge, the TBR Pile Challenge with Roof Beam Reader, I managed to only read and review 2 books out of the planned 12!

  8. Congrats on taking on the reading challenge. That is cool! I understand about busy time of the year. Right now I am reading The Twelve tribes of Hattie. (So far so good) I got the audiobook excerpt of Happy Marriage and it was good. I loved hearing the authors voice as she was talking/reading about her past.
    Good luck on the goals!

  9. Good luck with your goals! I’ve read all of Ann Patchett’s books and look forward to these essays. For what that’s worth, Bel Canto is my least favorite even if it is her most well-known.

  10. I’ve got a few review books on my shelf, too, and I have no desire to read any of them. I DO have the most recent Scott Lynch book to read and I think I’d like that one and I feel horrible saying this, but it’s so LONG. I think I will have to save it for Christmas/New Year’s so that I can give it the attention it needs.

    I already am not big on reading books for review, but I think I have gotten pretty bad about following through on commitments this year, so I am just going to try not to accept any at all next year unless they sound TOTALLY AMAZING.

Leave a Reply

