Sunday Salon

sunday salonTime: // 4:40 p.m. Saturday

The scene: // my living room

Eating: // saltine crackers while waiting for my chili to warm up.

Listening to: // Marsha Ambrosius

Celebrating: // the fact that Thanksgiving break is here! It actually started last Wednesday. I am so happy. Now I can dive into all the books I’ve been ignoring.

gaiman milkSo far I’ve read: //

Fortunately, the Milk by Neil Gaiman

Chew Vol. 6 Space Cakes by John Layman

You and Your Anxious Child by Anne Marie Albano

beamCurrently reading: //

Why Teach? In Defense of a Real Education by Mark Edmundson (essays)

To the End of June: The Intimate Life of American Foster Care by Cris Beam (Publishers Weekly deemed it one of the best books published this year.)

Did not finish: // The Whatnot by Stefan Bachman

Up next: // who knows? I am eyeing The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker, which I never did get a chance to start reading the last time I had it. I need a good fiction read to start on. Other choices include:

            Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple

            Ketchup Clouds by Annabel Pitcher

            The Golden Day by Ursula Dubosarsky

            Flora & Ulysses by Kate DiCamillo

 All five books are also on Publishers Weekly Best of 2013 list.

Now I’m off to: // relax and dive into a book. What are you up to?

21 thoughts on “Sunday Salon

  1. Sounds like a terrific break with lots of lovely reading. Cool that you’re getting in so many of the Best of 2013 books.

  2. I can’t wait to see what you think of To The End of June, I’ve heard great things about it as well. I was really hesitant abut Where’d You Go, Bernadette? because I didn’t think it could live up to all the hype, but I ended up really loving it.

  3. I’m also eyeing Golem and the Jinni to read next month. It’s one of those books I know I will enjoy but have been pushing off to read at a better time.

  4. Jealous of your break! I’m off Thurs-Sun, so I guess I should be happy with that. Family visits may not leave much time for reading, but we’ll be eating a lot!

  5. Happy Thanksgiving Break to you! I, sadly, get no break. It’s business as usual but for the actual holiday which will be busy considering we’re hosting family for turkey, etc. Looks like you’ve got lots of good reading to keep you busy.

    Today I was supposed to go see Catching Fire, but the plan kind of fell apart. Instead I’ll be spending some quality time with The Book Thief, and Katniss will have to wait until next week!

    Happy reading! =D

  6. To the End of June looks really interesting. My parents briefly participated in the foster care system, and had a teenage girl for at least half a year. She ended up switching to the care of her friend’s family, and I don’t think my parents have plans to take in another foster child at this point. It wasn’t a disastrous experience, but I think it was hard for the teen, who had been in the system for a while, to regard my parents’ home as anything but a way station. At least it was a safe space for a while, and hopefully she has had a greater sense of belonging with her friend’s family.

    Saw someone above mentioned Catching Fire – I saw it yesterday and really enjoyed it. It was much better than the first movie, and had a lot of great moments.

  7. I always get in trouble reading your blog! You always have wonderful books for our appetites! The Golem and the Jinni sounds wonderful and I just put it on my TBR wish list. Kind of appropriate for Chanukah too! Thanks for sharing! Have a wonderful Thanksgiving and enjoy your break!

  8. I’m looking forward to the Thanksgiving holiday as well. We don’t normally have a big to do so I’m hoping to finally have some time to catch up on books. I feel like I haven’t finished a book in forever! Really curious to hear about the foster care book. Sounds very interesting!

Leave a Reply

