2014 World Book Night Picks!!

In case you missed it, last night the organizers of the U.S. World Book Night announced the titles picked for next year’s event on April 23, 2014. If you don’t know, World Book Night has been going on for the past two years in the United States. On a given day in April, book givers from around the country give away free books to the public. Books are given away at libraries, parks, schools, anywhere they can think of.  My Twitter feed last night was lit up with excitement as each title was tweeted. The hashtag is #wbnbooks.

The 2014 titles are:

Tales of the City by Armistead Maupin

The Zookeeper’s Wife by Diane Ackerman

This Boy’s Life by Tobias Wolff

Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford (also available in large print)

The Weird Sisters by Eleanor Brwon

Waiting to Exhale by Terry McMillian

Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple (also available in large print)

When I was Puerto Rican by Esmeralda Santiago (also available in Spanish as Cuando Era   Puertorriqueña)

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

Enchanted by Alethea Kontis

Wild by Cheryl Strayed

The Botany of Desire by Michael Pollan

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

The Lighthouse Road by Peter Geye

The Ruins of Gorlan: Ranger’s Apprentice, Book 1 by John Flanagan

Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson

Bobcat and Other Stories by Rebecca Lee

Wait till Next Year by Doris Kearns Goodwin

Miss Darcy Falls in Love by Sharon Lathan

Young Men and Fire by Norman Maclean

Catch-22 by Joseph Heller

Hoot by Carl Hiaasen

Pontoon by Garrison Keillor

Kitchen Confidential by Anthony Bourdain

Sunrise Over Fallujah by Walter Dean Myers

100 Best Loved Poems edited by Philip Smith

The Dog Stars by Peter Heller

Presumed Innocent by Scott Turow

After the Funeral by Agatha Christie

The Tipping Point by Malcolm Gladwell

Same Difference by Derek Kirk Kim

If you want to be a book giver for next year’s event, sign-ups started this morning and end on January 5, 2014. Don’t wait until the last minute to get your application in.

Which book are you excited to see on the list? 

12 thoughts on “2014 World Book Night Picks!!

  1. This Boy’s Life was an incredible book! A lot of the others I either haven’t read or am not that excited about this year. But it seems like a great variety, so that’s good!

  2. Great list. I loved Code Name Verity this year, but also, in recent years, Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet, The Weird Sisters, and Botany of Desire. I feel like I should read more of the others!

  3. HI Honey, how are you? I’ve been thinking about you lately, hope it is positive vibes I’m feeling and you are giving. :)
    I’ve read 4-5 (I counted before I started commenting and now I’ve already forgotten!) the Bernadette book made me laugh so that is what I might pick but I recently read Kitchen Confidential, too so that might be a fun one to share.
    Be Great! hugs, C

  4. Katherine Paterson’s is a longtime favourite. I’m pleased to see it listed. And I am happy to see Diane Ackerman’s, Armistead Maupin’s, Terry Macmillan’s, and Rebecca Lee’s books. If I could choose, I would choose Michael Pollan’s book, though, because it truly changed the way that I look at the world. As much as I love to read, it’s not everyday that I feel that happen. I wish there was an equivalent event in Canada!

Comments are closed.