Sunday Salon

sunday salonGood morning! Once you stop blogging, it’s hard to start back. Hopefully, I can get myself together and start blogging more regularly.

Time: // 8:08 a.m.

The scene: // my living room

Drinking: // coffee. It’s been a hard night.

Eating: // nothing. I couldn’t find any pumpkin muffins at the store.

Just finished: // the graphic novel adaptation of A Wrinkle in Time illustrated by Hope Larson. What a fantastic adaptation. Now I want to reread the original again.

Reading: // Ingenious: A True Story of Invention, Automotive Daring, and the Race to Revive America by Jason Fagone. Ingenious is about the race to win the Automotive X Prize. I picked it up since it sounds interesting. So far, it is.

lahiri

Today, I also plan on starting The Lowland by Jhumpa Lahiri. I checked it out weeks ago from the library. Now, it’s due in a few days. What piqued my interest is that the book has been nominated for the Man Booker and National Book Award.

Today I plan on: // having a mini-read-a-thon. I missed last week’s read-a-thon after I became sick. I’m reading the books I mentioned above.

Promoting: // Aarti’s A More Diverse Universe blog tour. The purpose of the tour is to celebrate the diversity in speculative fiction by highlighting writers of color. There’s still time to sign up.

What are you reading today?

22 thoughts on “Sunday Salon

  1. Sounds like a good reading day! Have a fun mini Read-a-thon — and I’m glad you’re feeling better.

  2. Have a fun time with your own mini read-a-thon! Thank you for linking Aarti’s blog tour. I’m so tempted – it really sounds like a great reading challenge.

  3. It is hard to get back into blogging when you’ve let it slide! I am struggling with that lately. I had a bit of a read-a-thon yesterday morning (I managed to read about 200 pages of The Goldfinch before I got distracted), which was wonderful.

  4. It’s difficult to ge back into blogging when you haven’t been blogging in a while. I was out the end of May through June and it took me quite a while (the rest of the summer, really) to get back into the swing of blogging. Just take your time and do what fels right, no worries!

    So you like Pumpkin Muffins? I’ve never had one and one I almost bought one at the store last week, but my husband got the worst look on his face and asked if I was nuts! So never mind him, I’m going to buy me a Pumpkin muffin!

    I’m sorry you were sick for the read-a-thon, I hope you’re feeling better now. I’m looking forward to your review of The Lowlands. The critics rave about it but I prefer to know what my reading peers, with great taste in lit, think!

    I hope you have a good Monday! Stay healthy!

  5. I know exactly how it is to start blogging again after a long absence- I think I was gone for months. Now that I have some extra time on my hands, I’ve been making a double effort. Go at your own pace though, blogging is suppose to be fun and I think sometimes we can lose sight of that.

    BUT, it seems like you are reading a lot!! I was wondering about the graphic novel adaptation of A Wrinkle in Time. Now I’m going to have to put that on my wish list! And I always enjoy the writing of Jhumpa Lahiri, and I look forward to reading your review!

    Have a great week!

  6. I’m sorry to hear about the unfortunate end to your Readathon. Hope you’re feeling better and got some good reading in today! I’ve been reading The Revisionists by Thomas Mullen. It’s good but it’s been a slow go because I’ve been a little too distracted this week for some reason.

  7. I have heard some great things about Lowland, so I’m looking forward to hearing your thoughts on it. A friend of mine is reading it right now and keep telling me how I need to borrow her copy once she’s done!
    I hope you are feeling better than last week :)

  8. I really need to pick a book for Aarti’s event. I’m so scared that I’ll run out of time!! (Such a slow reader these days). Enjoy Lowlands. I’ve been curious about it and still haven’t read anything by Lahiri

  9. Graphic novels have really come into their own, haven’t they? I must look for this version of A Wrinkle in Time.

Comments are closed.