Short review: Survival Lessons by Alice Hoffman

hoffman survivalSurvival Lessons

Alice Hoffman

83 pages

Published October 1, 2013 by Algonquin Books

Source: Publisher

. . .Then I knew. Good fortune and bad luck are always tied together with invisible, unbreakable thread. It happens to everyone, in one way or another, sooner or later. The loss of a loved one, a divorce, heartbreak, a child set on the wrong path, a bad diagnosis. When it comes to sorrow, no one is immune.

When Alice Hoffman was diagnosed with breast cancer, she searched for a way to remember the joys of life as she went through treatment. She found it in good friends and family, along with the small things that are often unnoticed or taking for granted. Fifteen years later, Hoffman has decided to share what she’s learned with readers.

I picked this up because I’ve really enjoyed Hoffman’s work in the past. At only 83 pages, you could read this book in an hour or two. But don’t let that fool you. The author’s writing is still as beautiful as ever.

In the chapter “Choose Something New,” Hoffman writes,

Every woman is only one bad boyfriend or one bad choice away from the street. And she’s only one good choice back to the path that will lead her home. 

Survival Lessons is a short, sweet book that both new readers and long-time Hoffman fans will enjoy. My rating: 4 out of 5 stars.

17 thoughts on “Short review: Survival Lessons by Alice Hoffman

  1. This sounds really good. I’m a cancer survivor and I love learning what other people got from the experience. It sounds so cliche, but I think most people learn a lot!

  2. “When it comes to sorrow, no one is immune” — one of those dreadful truths one has to nudge to the back of one’s mind most of the time. This sounds wonderful but not this year for me. Another, nicer year, I will read this.

  3. I’m a huge fan of Alice Hoffman and glad to have found your review. I’d run across this title but didn’t realize it was a bit of a memoir. I’m going to find it and add it to my shorts for the Dewey Readathon this weekend. Thanks!

  4. love your idea of reading what ever you want and i am so glad you decided to participate this weekend for the readathon keep reading read more rad faster and read to enjoy it!

    team lion is with you all the way happy readathon reader :)

  5. I love Alice Hoffman and knew she had breast cancer in the past, but didn’t know that this was the topic of her new book, nor that it was novella length. Thanks for the good review. I will be picking this one up for my sis in law who had breast cancer twice, early in her life.

Leave a Reply

