Sunday Salon: Favorite Books of Summer

sunday salonIt’s official. Fall is finally here. I love the need for scarves and cute boots, umbrellas and sweaters. The weather in SoCal has been pretty odd lately. Last night, dark clouds moved in and the air was pretty chilly. Only a few hours before, it was in the 80s. I may have to wait a little longer before I can wear a scarf.

I’ve been pretty much absent from my blog this summer but I did read a lot. Instead of trying to write a bunch of reviews, I decided to share some of my favorite books of summer. Overall, I read a total of 62 books in a variety of genres and formats. Clicking on the titles below will take you either to Goodreads or my review.

Non-fiction

lamott help

Help Thanks Wow by Anne Lamott. In Help Thanks Wow, Lamott writes about the words help, thanks, and wow are the only words she truly needs for prayer. Lamott’s humorous tone can be found throughout this short read.

lamott stitches

Stitches: A Handbook on Meaning, Hope, Repair by Anne Lamott. The follow-up to Help Thanks Wow, Stitches is quieter in tone than all of Lamott’s other non-fictional reads. Long-time fans of the author’s writing will find this short meditative book a nice addition to their library.

cummings

The Year of Learning Dangerously by Quinn Cummings. This hilarious read about a mother’s first year homeschooling her daughter isn’t for everyone.

delano

Genius: A Photobiography of Albert Einstein by Marfe Ferguson Delano. This is a short biography of the physicist that both kids and their parents can enjoy.

cohen ignorance

I Don’t Know: In Praise of Admitting Ignorance by Leah Hager Cohen

ottaviani feynman

Feynman by Jim Ottaviani

ottaviani

Primates: The Fearless Science of Jane Goodall, Dian Fossey, Biruté Galdikas by Jim Ottaviani and Maris Hicks

karbo julia

Julia Child Rules by Karen Karbo. Karbo is back with the latest addition to her Kick Ass Women series. Karbos’ fans will love this book while new fans will rush out to pick up her backlist.

say tea

Tea with Milk by Allen Say. If you haven’t read anything by Say before, pick up all of his books. You can’t go wrong.

heiligman

The Boy Who Loved Math: The Improbable Life of Paul Erdös by Deborah Heiligman. This is a short look at the life of Paul Erdos, a mathematician who loved numbers even as a young child.

Fiction

eddleman

Sky Jumpers by Peggy Eddleman. This middle-grade debut novel set in a post-apocalyptic world surprised me with its brave heroine and unique setting.

danticat claire

Claire of the Sea Light by Edwidge Danticat. The author’s writing is so poetic. I enjoyed this short read about a young girl who was leaving her father for a better life.

vaughan

Saga Vol. 2 by Brain K. Vaighan and Fiona Staples. The second volume of this fantastical series will leave fans longing for volume 3.

brown cinnamon and gunpowder

Cinnamon and Gunpowder by Eli Brown. Blood-thirsty pirates, good food, and a captain who is more than what she appears to be.

You can find a list of all the books I read this summer here.

What were your favorite books of summer?

22 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: Favorite Books of Summer

  1. Julia Child Rules is at the top of my wish list! I think my favorite book of the summer (finished t Labor Day weekend!) was A Hundred Summers by Beatriz Williams… just loved it.

  2. Julia Child Rules was my favorite book of the summer. I enjoyed your short reports and may pick up the LaMotte books.

  3. Wait. Who are you again? ;)

    But seriously, glad to see you here. It looks like you’ve read quite a few good ones, but I don’t recognize any of these titles. I feel so old right now and out of touch. Thanks a lot, lady. :P

    My favorite book of the summer probably was Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple. It just came at the right time, I think.

  4. I need to add the Lamott titles and the Year of Learning Dangerously to my reading list- they look fantastic!

    My favorite reads of the summer: A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, The Good House, Beautiful Ruins, Middlemarch, and Going Clear (about Scientology).

  5. I love the need for autumn-wear, too! It’s also a great time of the year to get back on knitting.
    I want to read Cinnamon and Gunpowder; I think I first saw it on your blog when you reviewed it, and it’s been on my wishlist ever since.
    I finished reading Night Film on September 20 and I really enjoyed it, so it’s the one that comes to mind when I think of a summer favorite (even though it felt more like a fall book!)

  6. Gah. You really are a SuperWoman, aren’t you? Care to share your secret? How do you do so much?!! Anyway, I hope you find your fall reading every bit as wonderful as your summer reading was!
    For some reason, while I’ve actually read a fair bit of non-fiction so far this year, I seem to have spent summer largely skewed toward fiction. Not sure why that happened. I think my favorite reads this summer were Shine, Fingersmith, Under the Dome, and Hero.

  7. Yes, I love scarves too :) Wow 62 books? The Anne Lamott books sound very good. My fav summer reads were Full Dark, No Stars by Stephen King and Calling Me Home by Julie Kibler.

  8. I love fall too! I was so excited to get to wear my beautiful purple fall coat today, and I am eagerly anticipating the day it gets cold enough for my Saints scarf (it keeps me warm AND displays my football allegiance).

  9. You’ve read some really good books this summer! There are quite a few there that I want to read, especially The Year of Living Dangerously.

  10. You always find such interesting books! I’ll be so glad when I have time to venture outside the world of YA fiction!

Comments are closed.