It’s Monday! What are you reading?

Fall hasn’t reached SoCal but the cold and flu season has arrived. Despite the whole family coming down with colds last week I still managed to get some reading done.

duprauLast week I read:

The City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrai (read-along with daughter)

The City of Ember: graphic novel adaptation by Dallas Middaugh

Make Good Art by Neil Gaiman and Chip Kidd

Stitches: A Handbook for Meaning, Hope, and Repair by Anne Lamott

 

Reviews to come. Seriously.

erdrich round house

I’m still recovering from last week’s cold and virus but I’m hoping to read a few good books. This week’s reading pile includes:

Sula by Toni Morrison

The Color Purple by Alice Walker (for next week’s Banned Books Week)

We Need New Names by Noviolet Bulawayo

The Round House by Louise Erdrich

Relish: My Life in the Kitchen by Lucy Knisley (re-read)

 

What are you reading this week?

19 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. I like your stack for this week. Would happily adopt it. But I like my stack too. Which includes Claire Mulligan’s The Dark and Elizabeth Ruth’s Matadora. One RIPish and one about a female matador which will be interesting I’m sure (although not a topic I naturally gravitate towards, without the interesting gender slant). Enjoy!

  2. I’m finally just getting over my cold of the past week. It’s certainly no fun. Thanks for reminding me about The City of Ember. I read it a couple years ago and liked it, but never got around to reading the rest of the series. I’ll have to check those out!

  3. Ugh, my husband and I are both coming down with colds right now.

    I loved The Color Purple but I pretty much hated Sula. I had to read it for English class though, and I pretty much hated everything we read. I’ve enjoyed the ones that I’ve re-read now that I’m older though, so who knows what I would think of Sula? We Need New Names caught my eye at the bookstore today but I walked away with a couple of other books instead. Enjoy your week, and I hope you and your family feel better soon!

  4. I have a copy of We Need New Names that I really need to read. I have so many books I want to read RIGHT NOW. Sigh.

    The colds are hitting here, too. Ashley came down with one last week that ended up causing laryngitis for a few days. I have to admit, because she’s the one whose mouth never stops running, I found the laryngitis to be pretty hilarious. Hahaha! My parents probably felt the same way when I was a kid. Heh.

  5. Great lists! I liked Make Good Art – such a fun, colourful, inspiring little read. Although I still like the actual speech more. Gaiman is just such a good speaker. I’m waiting for my copy of Relish from the library – can hardly wait!

Comments are closed.