Sunday Salon

sunday salonTime: // 8:35 am

The place: // my living room

Listening to:// the sound of kids tickling each other

Eating:// Carrot cake. It goes great with coffee

Missing:// all of you guys!!

lamott stitchesReading:// Stitches: A Handbook on Meaning, Hope, and Repair by Anne Lamott. It’s the follow-up to Help, Thanks, Wow. So far, it’s different in tone as it’s a “quieter” book but it’s still interesting.

Excited for: // The #LiveLikeJulia Project. A few weeks ago, I finished reading Karen Karbo’s Julia Child Rules. The project is inspired by the book and also Child’s life. Bloggers all over the web are living like Julia and following one of the rules in Karbo’s book for one week. There are so many fantastic rules but I’m leaning toward rule #1: Live with Abandon.  It means being all in with your life.

Grateful for:// this summer weather is starting to cool off. Southern California is known for its perfect weather but for the last week or two, we’ve almost hit the 100 degrees mark.

What are you up to today? 

25 thoughts on “Sunday Salon

  1. Mmmm. I love carrot cake. It’s cooled off here, but it’s still really nice outside. I’m supposed to go out and pull weeds, but I’ve been at the computer all day. Have the house to myself just about the whole day and have a lot left on my weekend to-do list!

  2. Is it just me or are you always eating carrot cake on Sundays? I’d be suitably tortured with jealousy if I hadn’t at least come home from church with most of a leftover pumpkin roll which is a fairly acceptable substitute. ;-)

  3. Carrot cake? Yum! The children returned to school this week so after spending yesterday evening playing board games with friends I am doing lots of nothing but reading today. Have a lovely week!

  4. Summer is making an exit slowly here, but its nice that it’s cool in the mornings and evenings at least.
    Happy reading! Stitches sounds great.

  5. I’m ready for some cooler weather as well! I love the idea of Live with Abandon. I hadn’t heard of this author but I’m already intrigued. I hope that you have a great Sunday and rest of the week :)

  6. It’s getting chilly here too. The husband and I have been taking walks in the evening, once the heat has reduced, but then it gets really cold at that time.

  7. We’re finally getting some stellar days here and I was happy to spend most of Saturday outdoors. No rain for a change.

  8. Thank you for leaving a comment on my blog because I am so glad to know about yours. What a beautiful site, and all about books! Have you lived a week “with abandon” Julia-Child-style? I don’t know that I’ve stuck with “following whims” very strictly, but thinking about what Julia might do in the situations I find myself has been enlightening. I just wrote today about how she made it a rule to NEVER apologize for a bad meal. Not sure I could be that bold, but it’s a thought-provoking idea. Looking forward to reading some of your Julia experience.

  9. At first glance, ‘ticking’ read as ‘kicking’. Heheh. Wholly different morning with that bit of misunderstanding on my part.

    The carrot cake sounds scrummy: I want some now. Enjoy your days!

  10. Time: 2:13pm

    The place: My desk (office/living room)

    Listening to: The end of Cleopatra’s Moon

    Eating: Nothing yet but I will make a tuna sandwich soon.

    Missing: Nothing at the moment.

    Reading: A Tree Grows in Brooklyn

    Excited for: The weekend!

    Grateful for: Family

    I love the weather here just like this. I am not a cold weather person at all. LOL! Enjoy your book. I need a cup of coffee.

  11. Oh! Carrot cake and coffee, sounds yummy! Our weather wasn’t has high here but it has also been cooling off, and I am so glad for it!

Comments are closed.