R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril VIII

RIP8main300It’s here! Carl posted the sign-up post for R.I.P a few days ago. It’s one of the few events to get the blogisphere in a blogging frenzy. The R.I.P. Challenge is one of my favorite challenges. Even though the sun is shining out here in SoCal and the weather is still in the 90s, I had to sign up now.

From now until Halloween, participants will be reading books and watching movies in a variety of genres:

Mystery

Suspense

Thriller

Dark Fantasy

Gothic

Horror

Supernatural

 

The only two rules:

Have fun reading (and watching).

Share that fun with others.

rip8peril1stFor Peril the First, participants read four books that fit in with the challenge. I’ve ignored my own books most of this year in favor of library books and advanced reading copies, so for R.I.P., I’m reading strictly from my shelves. My reading pool:

RIP Collage1

RIP Collage2

Half World by Hiromi Goto

anything by Angela Carter

The Lace Reader by Brunonia Barry

Stepmother by Robert Coover

Tender Morsels by Margo Lanagan

Just What Kind of Mother Are You? by Paula Daly

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

Burial Rites by Hannah Kent

The Jinni and the Golem by Helene Wecker

rip8perilshortI love short stories but I don’t often read them. I’ll probably change that with a collection of short stories by Angela Carter.

rip8perilonscreenWhat would the challenge be without movies?! I have no idea what I’m going to watch just yet.

What are you reading (and watching) for R.I.P. VIII?

 

 

22 thoughts on “R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril VIII

  1. Now that you mention it, it’s still in the 90s here in Northern CA too–but this challenge is making it feel more like Autumn!

    I hope you enjoy The Graveyard Book. I had a great time with a read-along of it not too long ago. :)

  2. Oh my goodness! I LOVED The Lace Reader when I read it a few years back. I can’t wait to hear what you think :) It looks like you have lots of good reading ahead of you…enjoy!!

  3. Fantastic pictures of books! Ah, you have such great potential reads ahead of you. The Bloody Chamber is one of my favorite short story collections. I’m going to read at least one story from it again this year. Love it. Great to have you in again this year! :)

  4. So happy to know you are participating too! I read The Lace Reader two years ago for my first RIP challenge and it was a perfect selection for the occasion. I hope you do enjoy it. Burial Rites caught my eye recently so I will be curious to know what you think about it.

  5. Each year when I see this challenge, I’m SO tempted to join in. The Graveyard Book is really really wonderful. The Bloody Chamber looks interesting – I’ll have to add that to my to-read list.

  6. Oooh, the Lace Reader! I have that on my shelves and I definitely have to read that. Also, I’d love to reread Tender Morsels *ponders* Perhaps I do want to start composing my list? Enjoy your books!

  7. Looks like a great combo. If you’re looking for an audio component, the Neil Gaiman reading of The Graveyard Book is a whole lotta fun. I half-read and half-listened, but loved the listening bits far more.

Leave a Reply

