Sunday Salon

sunday salonTime: // 6:39 am

The place: // my living room

Drinking: // nothing yet but the coffee pot is going

Eating: // carrot cake if I can find some in the frig

Just finished reading: // Dumbing Us Down: The Hidden Curriculum of Compulsory School by John Taylor Gatto

avasthi

Next up: // one of two YA books: Chasing Shadows by Swati Avasthi or Sky Jumpers by Peggy Eddleman

Hating: // vertigo. My balance has been so off.

Loving: // the song “Royals” by Lorde. Can you believe she’s only sixteen?

Considering: // homeschooling my two oldest who are begging to do so

Celebrating: // my oldest son’s tenth birthday. Kids grow up so fast!

Blogging about: // The Back to School Reading Challenge that’s hosted by Joy at Joy’s Book Blog

Now I’m off to: // drink coffee and read

 

What are you doing today?

44 thoughts on “Sunday Salon

    1. Good to know that you do. This was my first Gatto book. I’m hoping to read his latest, Weapons of Mass Instruction, soon. Is there one in particular would you recommend over the rest?

      1. No. I read Dumbing Us Down first, too, I think, and then just searched out and devoured the rest of them. There are things I do and don’t (necessarily) agree with about his teaching methods, but he’s so dedicated and I found his ideas very interesting. The Underground History of American Education was just fantastic.

    2. Okay. I’m going to continue to see if my library has The Underground History of American Education. It’s a shame that the libraries in my area don’t have more books by him.

  1. Going to make an effort to finish “Please Look After Mom” today. And I need to wash my car. I’m thinking about baking a couple loaves of brioche, too. But that would mean I have to go to the grocery store. Hmmmm.

  2. I love that you’re eating carrot cake in the morning! I hadn’t heard of the Avasthi book that you mentioned, but I really thought his novel Split was excellent. My daughter would love to be home schooled….

    1. I hadn’t heard of Split until finding Avasti’s latest. Aww. I wish I had known about homeschooling when I was a kid. Is it a possibility for your daughter? ;-)

    1. I’m the refrigerator fairy in my house! LOL! Unfortunately I couldn’t find the carrot cake but I am making an orange glazed pound cake tomorrow. . . :-)

  3. I so wish I had had the opportunity to homeschool my son. I spent much time teaching others’ children, but at least we had summer vacations together. Hope you find your carrot cake, and best to you with the Back To Schhol challenge! I had better keep it simple here, as I am truly back to school ;)

  4. Hope the vertigo gives you some relief soon. Ick!

    Happy birthday to the 10 year old!

    Dumbing Us Down sounds fascinating. Good luck with the home schooling decision — I’m sure there is such a lot to consider. From the perspective of a non-parent, it sure sounds fun! But there would be so much effort to make my fantasy of it work.

    1. I hope so too, Joy. It’s not until your balance is off that you appreciate it. ;-) Dumbing us Down is very interesting. Homeschooling is very fun but can be challenging. Thanks for the birthday wishes.

  5. Oh! Oh! I’ve wanted to read Dumbing Us Down since about 9th grade (when I first started considering dropping out of school). I look forward to reading your thoughts about it!

    1. I was thinking about dropping out of school around the same time too, A! I didn’t know homeschooling existed. I wish I did. I can definitely recommend Dumbing Us Down.

  6. Today I’m doing chores around the house in between trying to finish reading Stargazey Point by Shelley Noble and perhaps stuffing a couple episodes of Breaking Bad in to complete my effort to catch up with the current season that starts this evening.

    Happy Birthday to your oldest!

    1. I just checked out the first season of Breaking Bad. I can’t wait to see what everyone’s been talking about. Thanks for the birthday wishes. How’s Stargazey Point?

    1. Yep! I’ve been reading up on homeschooling for years now. I’ve already started homeschooling my youngest which wasn’t planned but it was an emergency. Homeschooling can feel overwhelming but it’s nice to take a moment (or several) to take a deep breath and remember why I’m doing it.

      ________________________________

    1. I do get time to myself. I usually try to wake up earlier than the rest of the family to have time to read and drink coffee by myself. :-) I also take walks and do an errand or two by myself when I can. It’s all about balance. Without it, you can end up stressed and a tad resentful. ;-)

      1. Good to know :) I would do it for Gage if I thought he needed it but right now all I can think about is getting a few hours to myself everyday. 2 year old are exhausting!

  7. Hey there! Long time! Sorry I have been MIA. But I am getting back to blogging again. Hope you feel better soon!!

    Time: 12:55PM

    The place: my living room/office space

    Drinking: cold watermelon juice

    Eating: nothing yet

    Just finished reading: A House Divided by Kimberla Lawson Roby

    Next up: Of Love and Evil by Anne Rice (audiobook) Need to finish 7 day carb cycling book

    Hating: Working on a blog post about BEA book Haul. There are just too many book links. AARGH!!!!!!!!!

    Loving: The weather

    Considering: Going to the beach

    Celebrating: Getting my butt back into the gym and finishing Level 1 bellydance. Level 2 starts in 3 weeks and I am going to do a sword class too!!! YIPPIE!

    Blogging about:Everything! I have 3 months of stuff to get caught up on.

    Now I’m off to: Comment so more on this blog.

    Have a great day!!!!

    1. Alysia, I was wondering what happened to you! You’re going to a sword class!! I’m jealous! Glad to see you’re back.Have fun at the beach. :-)

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

