Sunday Salon

sunday salonTime: // 9:01 am

The scene: // my desk

Eating: // nothing right now. I did have a slice of 7up cake which was delicious.

Drinking: // coffee!!

Just finished and currently reading: // Edwidge Danticat’s newest novel, Claire of the Sea Light. It was a really nice read. I’m still reading How to Write Short: Word Craft for Fast Times by Roy Peter Clark.

Blogging: // about almost nothing. I don’t know what’s going on. It’s almost like I’m losing my blogging mojo.

Promoting: // Carl’s (Stainless Steel Droppings) latest post. Tor.com is celebrating its fifth birthday by releasing a free ebook of all of their short stories. Plus, Carl is hosting a little short story read-along today of “Mrs. Henderson’s Cemetery Dance” by Carrie Cunin. I’m going to try and join.

Also, the High Summer Read-a-thon starts tomorrow. I have no idea what to read. My week has been pretty shitty so I’ll probably stick to comfort reads like Barbara Kingsolver’s The Bean Trees.

Thankful for: // my bed which is where I’m off to.

What are you looking forward to today?

24 thoughts on “Sunday Salon

  1. Thank you for the heads up on the readathon! I have been meaning to join into one of those weeklong, seemingly more laid back ones like this. Now to get some actual reading done..

  2. Had a workout cutting down a small tree with narrow branches, a bush with too many green arms, and packaging same into small bundles for disposal. Lost a few pounds, we did.

    1. Any excuse to lose a few pounds is a good one! ;-) Harvee, I’m starting to have a hard time commenting on your blog. I can’t seem to find the comment button sometimes.

      ________________________________

  3. Sorry to hear your week hasn’t been that great but hope you have a great sunday reading and relaxing! The Bean Trees is an excellent choice. Thanks for the heads up on the read-a-thon.

  4. I’m looking forward to reading…and napping, naturally. :)

    Whoa. You said a swear word, lady. :P But I’m sorry you’re having such a…ahem…crappy week. As for the blogging mojo, unfortunately in this day and age (of so many social media options out there), it’s easy to lose it. I know I do too. I’m trying to regain it over the next 30 days by posting something each day, even if it’s a video, a quote…anything. I’m following Florinda over at The 3 R’s Blog example. She’s doing it too.

    1. That’s a great idea, Bryan! I think I’m going to give posting every day for 30 days a try. Has it helped you get your mojo back?

      ________________________________

    1. Joanna! 7 Up cake is so good! It’s a really sweet pound cake (1 lb of sugar, 1 lb of flour . . . ) with 7 up added to it! Yum!

      ________________________________

  5. Sorry to hear about your bad week. That could be contributing to the loss of blogging mojo. I’m so behind with reviews I’ve agreed to do that I’m starting to get discouraged. I thought joining in the mini Bloggiesta this weekend would help, but I haven’t done much about getting caught up.

    1. Maybe there’s something in the air when it comes to bad blogging mojo? I hope you get yours back soon. It’s the worst feeling being behind in reading commitments.

      ________________________________

  6. I am having issues with my mojo too. I feel like I’m just dipping my toes in the blogging world these days when I really want to be up to my neck in it. It might just be that we’re having beautiful summer weather here in Seattle (which is rare) and I don’t have much of a desire to sit on the computer. I’m definitely reading, just not blogging. Oh well … fall and winter will come and force me back onto the computer eventually. :)

  7. I’m participating in the High Summer Read-a-thon as well. I’m really hoping to at least three books this week but we will see. I hope that you have a better week….and that you get your bloggy mojo back :) Have a great week Vasilly!

  8. Hooray for 7-Up cake, boo to having a shitty week. Those are the worst. Is it HOT AS HADES in your neck of the woods? That was certainly the case here. It finally cooled off today but the string of hot days in a row had me feeling sweaty and crabby. Hmph. It’s a good idea to stick to comfort reads, I hope that helps you have a MUCH better week this time around :D

  9. I’m sorry you had a shitty week. :( But I hope this one is an amazing one!!! A week-long read-a-thon sounds awesome–may have to participate, even if I mostly read for school prep. Somehow just seems like knowing I was read-a-thoning might make it seem more fun. :P Mmmmm…and 7-Up cake–I’ve never heard of such a thing, but YUM it sounds good!

Comments are closed.