Short Review: Saga Volume 2 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

vaughanSaga Volume 2

Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

153 pages

Published in June 2013 by Image Comics

Source: Publisher

 

In the second volume of Saga, one of my favorite literary couples is back.  Marko and Alana, two lovers from warring territories are still on the run with their infant daughter, Hazel, from assassins. During the last few pages of the first volume, readers were introduced to Marko’s parents who mysteriously appeared on their ship.  Now, readers are learning more about Marko’s childhood, how the young couple met, while meeting even more fantastical creatures in this strange galaxy.

I wasn’t planning on reading the latest volume just yet but once I read the first page, I didn’t want to stop. I’m not going to write anything more about the plot because what makes this series special is the fact that it’s not a typical “star-crossed lovers” situation. It’s better and there’s so much more to this story.  While there is some movement forward for the couple, volume 2 is more of a back story but it’s worth reading.

Fiona Staples is such a talented artist. The creatures featured in both volumes, the look of Alana and Marko . . .all of it. I think she is definitely the perfect artist to illustrate this series. I have an egalley of this book so I can’t show you what I’m talking about but it’s all so original. I have just two problems with this volume and one has to do with the cover. The cover doesn’t fit the story at all. The cover for the first volume was so eye-catching, you wanted to pick it up. This cover is pretty blah. My second problem is that I wish the volume was much longer! Now I have to wait for the next volume.

Overall, I thought this was a pretty good read but I still enjoyed the first volume more. My rating: 3 ½ out of 5 stars.

9 thoughts on “Short Review: Saga Volume 2 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

  1. I haven’t read volume 1 yet. I must find it somewhere! I don’t think it was readily available at the library last time I checked.

  2. Aaargh…I have the first volume on my shelves but haven’t read it yet. But I should just look at the bright side, knowing I have have some awesome reading to look forward to, right? :)

  3. The problem with reading comics that are still ongoing is that there are these bits of the story that aren’t as self-contained, and then it’s frustrating. I guess it’s not unique to comics though? I guess the same is true of books in series. I avoid reading books in series that aren’t finished yet, for the same reason — I like having a whole story.

  4. Pingback: Brian K. Vaughan – Saga, Vol. 2 | Fyrefly's Book Blog

  5. Pingback: Sunday Salon: Favorite Books of Summer | 1330v

Comments are closed.