Reading Events

The Classics Spin Round #2

classicsI know. I know. You guys are probably getting tired of all the lists I’ve been posting about what I want to read. I can’t help it. I’m currently a reader who can’t get much read right now so I’m looking at everything I want to read and participate in.

The Classics Club is hosting round 2 of The Classics Spin. The last event was such a success that I’ve decided to participate again. Hopefully when the semester is over, I can formally join this perpetual reading challenge. Here are the rules for the Classics Spin:

  1. Go to your blog.
  2. Pick twenty books you’ve got left from your Classics Club list.
  3. Try to challenge yourself: list five you are dreading/hesitant to read, five you can’t WAIT to read, five you are neutral about, and five free choice (favorite author, rereads, ancients — whatever you choose.)
  4. Post that list, numbered 1-20, on your blog by next Monday, May 20th.
  5. Monday morning, we’ll announce a number from 1-20. Go to the list of twenty books you posted, and select the book that corresponds to the number we announce.
  6. The challenge is to read that book by July 1, even if it’s an icky one you dread reading! (No fair not listing any scary ones!)

My list:

  1. The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck
  2. Sister Outsider by Audre Lorde
  3. The Color Purple by Alice Walker
  4. Midnight Cowboy by James Leo Herlihy
  5. The Family Among the Australian Aborigines by Bronislaw Malinowski
  6. The Iliad by Homer
  7. Last Child in the Woods by Richard Louv
  8. House Made of Dawn by N. Scott Momaday
  9. I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith
  10. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
  11. Maus by Art Speigelman
  12. Beloved by Toni Morrison (reread)
  13. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams (reread)
  14. Lucy by Jamaica Kincaid
  15. The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter
  16. Sula by Toni Morrison
  17. From the Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler by E.L. Konigsburg
  18. Love Medicine by Louise Erdrich
  19. The Souls of Black Folk by W.E.B. Du Bois
  20. Passing by Nella Larsen

I can’t wait to find out which number is picked. Are you joining the Classics Spin?

Note: It’s Monday and the number 6 was picked so this summer I’m reading The Iliad. I’m a little hesitant but it’s a book that’s been on my shelf for years unread. I really like my list as a whole, so I think I’ll try to read many of the books on it in the coming year.

26 thoughts on “The Classics Spin Round #2”

  1. I love seeing all these lists. Yours has both titles I’d love to read and titles that scare me… can’t wait to see which number comes up on Monday!

  2. I’m not signing up for anything more! I’m drowning in unread review copies and need to read and write my head above water. Good luck!

  3. That’s such an exciting, unpredictable challenge! In any case, that’s a great list you got there, with a lot of variety. I’m curious to know what you’ll be reading!

  4. Some excellent choices. I loved I Capture the Castle. I loved Grapes of Wrath when I read it as a teen. I should really read it again. Good luck!

  5. So many people have The Handmaid’s Tale – such a thought provoking book – I loved it. The Colour Purple is pretty amazing too – one of the few books to make me actually cry.
    Good luck 🙂

  6. The Grapes of Wrath is one of my favorites. The Color Purple is good, as is The Handmaid’s Tale. I haven’t read most of the books on your list, though – interested to see your thoughts! Good luck with the Spin, hope a good # pops-up!

  7. LOVE your list! I really wish I’d added something by Nella Larsen to my original classics club list. But I guess there’s nothing to stop me from reading her anyway 😉

  8. I just picked up a copy of The Iliad but have no intention of reading it anytime soon. 😉 I did love The Odyssey when we had a little readalong a few years ago. Maybe you can listen to it?

  9. I read the Iliad years and years ago and loved it, but then I’ve always had an ancient history fascination.
    Research translations as a good one makes all the difference 🙂

  10. Ooh, I was hoping you’d get The Handmaid’s Tale! I’ve never read The Iliad, only The Odyssey for a read-a-long a couple of years ago. Loved it. And I still need to join the Classics Club, it looks like fun!

Comments are closed.