Sunday Salon

sunday salonHappy Mother’s Day to all the moms! To me, it’s Mother’s Day every day but still . . . I’ll take this one day!

Format borrowed from Kim (Sophisticated Dorkiness).

Time // 9:19 am

Place // My living room. The sun is already beaming in so I know this will be a hot day.

Eating // I made the kids our traditional Sunday breakfast of pancakes but I think I’ll stick to my White Chocolate Macadamia Luna bar. Yum! I’m counting calories.

Drinking // Surprisingly nothing. I need to make another pot of coffee.

Reading  // Yesterday I actually finished a book!! Yes, it was a re-read but still. Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston left me in tears. I started reading Hacking Your Education: Ditch the Lectures, Save Tens of Thousands, and Learn More than Your Peers Ever Will by Dale J. Stephens. I’m also planning to start reading The Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes.  I just need to find my Nook.

Watching // Nothing today. Yesterday I watched Waiting for Superman” for my sociology class, which also left me in tears.

Listening // To the Great Gatsby soundtrack. It’s so good.

Wishing // That I had the day to myself! *sigh* I would love to spend today in Barnes & Nobles with

Blogging // Nothing! I don’t have the time or energy.

Promoting // Nothing!

Avoiding // Google Reader. I’m sure I have over 1000 unread posts.

Anticipating // The end of the semester which is next month. But until then? Hmmm. . . not much. Sad I know.

Okay so what are you reading/drinking/watching/listening to today? 

18 thoughts on “Sunday Salon

  1. So who did you want to spend your time in B & N? That’s the big question. :)

    Later, The Wife and I are going to watch Silver Linings Playbook. We saw it in the theater, but I wanted to see it again, so picked it up at the Red Box today.

    1. LOL! Bryan, I wanted to spend some time in B&N by myself. With five kids in the house and one that’s always at home, it would have been nice to have some alone time. Oh well. I’ve been thinking about watching Silver Lining Playbook but I want to read the book first. Enjoy the rest of your Sunday.

  2. I know what you mean about not blogging much. Life seems to be so full these days I am just writing reviews as I finish books, but not much else!

  3. It’s definitely ok to avoid Google reader – sometimes you just have to hit “mark all read”….. I hate to do it but life is so crazy busy, no need to make something fun a chore! Hope you enjoyed your mother’s day and hope you get to enjoy a day at B&N soon!

  4. Have you tried the Luna Cheery bar – so yum! And no way could I re-read Their Eyes Were Watching God – I can’t take being so emotional over a book.

  5. Time: 2:50pm
    Place: My office
    Eating: Welch’s Fruit Snacks (Low Cal and yummy)
    Drinking: I need to get some water in.
    Reading: The Madman’s Daughter
    Watching: Nothing. I just cancelled my cable. I’m free!
    Listening: Pandora radio “The Brand New Heavies” (My fav group)
    Wishing: I could teleport home instead of sitting in traffic for over an hour.
    Blogging: I need to spend a day to have my own little Bloggiesta. Maybe Saturday but nothing now.
    Promoting: Nothing
    Avoiding: Setting up the safety classes for the crew. I have no idea why but I am.
    Anticipating: Saturday. Chilaxing.

    When you get a chance send me your address I have a book I would like to have your kids opinion on? It’s and ARC for ages 8-14. I would love to have a second opinion. littlepocketbooks at gmail dot com

    By the way…
    Happy (belated) Mother’s Day!!

    1. I love this! Why did you cancel your cable?! I don’t watch much tv so I only have cable to watch Once Upon a Time. :-) I need to check out The Heavies. Maybe we can have a mini-bloggiesta next month? School is kicking my butt right now. I’ll send you my addy in a few minutes.

      1. I cancelled my cable because I don’t watch enough TV to justify a $160 bill a month. And now I watch all my shows on Hulu or download the cable shows app. Free is so much better. Yes to the mini-bloggiesta! It would be cool to find a few Cali-Book Bloggers and we all meetup at a cafe and spend a few hours bloggiesta-ing.

      2. $160 a month?! That is crazy! My bill is about $90 a month with internet but we have Charter. I like that idea of a mini-bloggiesta somewhere with a bunch of SoCal bloggers!

Comments are closed.