It’s Monday! What are you reading?

it's mondayIt’s Monday. What are you reading is a fantastic weekly meme hosted by Sheila over at Book Journey.

Thanks to school, kids, and everything else known as life, I haven’t had much time for reading. I didn’t finish one book last week. I’m really not surprised since this is the last month of the semester and I’m being bombarded with paper after paper to write. I’m doing my best to carve out some reading time for myself.

This week I’m reading (and hopefully finishing):

hurston

Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston. I’m in a re-reading sort of mood plus the Classics Club is hosting a sync reading (a stress-free read-along) that’s currently going.

weber

Waiting for “Superman”: How We Can Save America’s Failing Public Schools edited by Karl Weber. I’m reading this for my sociology class.

barry

What It Is by Lynda Barry. This is one of my books left over from the read-a-thon.

The kids are reading:

babbitt

Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt. My daughter, Piper, is reading this. I hope she ends up enjoying this as much as I did.

palacio

Wonder by RJ Palacio. After the lovely Alysia (Little Pocket of Books) suggested that we read this, my son started to. So far, Oliver’s enjoying it.

alley wolf

I’m not the only one in a re-reading mood. My youngest, Avram, loves Zoe B. and R.W. Alley’s There’s a Wolf at the Door. He’s been re-reading it every day. Often times, fairy tale re-tellings are a hit-or-miss. The Alley’s retelling of various stories featuring the Big Bad Wolf are hilarious and a great addition to the genre.

So that’s what we’re reading this week. What are you reading?

23 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. I will definitely check out the fairy tale retellings. They seem like they would be a ton of fun to read with my little guy.
    Have a great week!

  2. Life indeed! I feel like I’ve been so out of the loop for so long. Wanted to say hi and also glad to hear you are reading What It Is. I read that book a few years ago and just loved it.

    1. Hey Iliana! I’ve been marking pages in What It Is! What a great book. I’m glad to see that you’re still around.

      1. Working Class Foodie is okay so far. I only just started it. The River of No Return definitely lived up to the hype! The ending was kind of disappointing and rushed, though.

      2. Well that sucks about the ending! I’m going to add The River of No Return to my tbr list for this summer. Let me know what how World Class Foodie turns out.

  3. I love Their Eyes Were Watching God. Love it.

    I bought Wonder for Ash for xmas, and she says that I absolutely MUST read it, so I’ll be reading it sometime this summer, I think.

  4. Lots of good things! I need to reread Their Eyes Are Watching God — I liked it a lot, and it’s been years since I read anything by Zora Neale Hurston.

  5. Hey there! Thanks for the shout out and I would love to hear Oliver’s thoughts on the book. I think I am the only black person on the planet who has not read Their Eyes Are Watching God. I need to add it to my every growing TBR list.

    Life is doing the same for me too! If it was not for audiobooks I would have nothing done at all.

    Have an amazing week!

  6. Okay, I know this is totally off-topic as far as books go, but I absolutely love your kids’ names!
    And I’ll be checking our library for There’s a Wolf at the Door–any book that can be happily reread every day is definitely worth a go. :)

  7. I have heard such great things about Wonder, but I tried to pick it up and I couldn’t get into it :( I hope you have better luck with it (and if so, it might give me the push I need to pick it up again!)

  8. Hi Vasilly! :D Wish I could reread, too.. soon, maybe. Loved Their Eyes Were Watching God, so heartbreaking, though. Right now just finished reading Rebecca, and moving on to maybe Gabriel Garcia Marquez’s The General in his Labyrinth or An Object of Beauty by Steve Martin. Happy weekend!

  9. Those look like some great reads, enjoy them! I have Their Eyes Were Watching God on my Nook. I saw the film years ago and have always wanted to read the novel.

Comments are closed.