Today is Poem in Your Pocket Day!

pocket_logo2Each year on Poem in Your Pocket Day, I find one poem to carry around with me all day. I usually end up carrying the poem around all year. I still have last year’s poem, E.E. Cumming’s “I Carry Your Heart with Me (I Carry it In)”. There’s still time to find a poem to carry around with you. Here’s my poem for today:

 

blessing the boats

            (at St. Mary’s)

may the tide

that is entering even now

the lip of our understanding

carry you out

beyond the face of fear

may you kiss

the wind then turn from it

certain that it will

love you back              may you

open your eyes to water

water waving forever

and may you in your innocence

sail through this to that

Lucille Clifton

9 thoughts on “Today is Poem in Your Pocket Day!

  1. If I had a pocket to put it in today, this would be my poem. I love that you chose this one, and I love the water and waves theme among the other emotional elements. Great choice for the pocket today!

  2. Not sure if you saw my response to the comment you left on my poem in your pocket post, but this poem of “yours” touches me deeply. It says all the things I aspire to acquire in my life, namely a freedom from fear, more trust, the ability to love without so many expectations. I even hold extreme expectations for myself, but that’s another point. I just love this poem, and you really blessed me by sharing it. xo

Comments are closed.