Sunday Salon

sunday salonGood morning. The skies are cloudy, the birds are silent, and my neighbor’s dog is barking up a storm. Plus, it’s the last day of spring break. It was nice to take a break away from homework. This spring break was pretty low-key. I took the kids to the park almost every day, read as much as I wanted, and did some spring cleaning which included gathering as many books as I could to donate. Not bad.

Last night I finished reading and listening to Half-Blood Blues by Esi Edugyan. Whathornby more baths a book. I can definitely see why it was nominated for so many awards. I’m hoping to post my thoughts on it tomorrow. But now I need something lighter to read so I’m thinking about reading Nick Hornby’s latest, More Baths, Less Talking. Reading Hornby’s articles from The Believer is always a great way to pass the time, add books to my tbr list, and see new ways to write about reading. After More Baths, Less Talking, I’ll probably start reading The Street Sweeper by Elliot Perlman which talks about the time period during which many of the events in Half-Blood Blues took place.

In case you missed my earlier post about the read-a-thon, the hosts are still looking for prize donations and cheerleaders for the event later on this month.

What are you reading today? How’s your weekend going?

16 thoughts on “Sunday Salon

  1. Sounds wonderful! My Sunday theatre plans fell through so I have a Sunday afternoon and evening unexpectedly free. Planning to write and schedule posts, but visiting other blogs first. (Which is always bad for my plans, but very enjoyable!)

  2. I’ve only read one Hornby and I really enjoyed it. I need to get back to reading more of his works. Where do you recommend starting?

    I’d like to get involved with the Readathon, but unfortunately, I’m working that day.

  3. Sounds like a perfect spring break to me. Low-key is best. (I wrote “beset” accidentally — a Freudian slip!) Not this weekend but now, at last, I’m going to get to read A Tale for the Time Being! I am painfully excited. NetGalley’s had my request for it for ages and not approved it, and I’d given it up as a lost cause but hooray hooray they approved it at last and I CANNOT WAIT to read it. I hope I love it as much as you did!

  4. Your spring break sounds absolutely wonderful! I’m already counting down the days until I’ll be home on maternity leave and by the time that we’re all feeling up to going out the weather in Dallas should be cool enough to head to the park or take some leisurely walks.

    I’ve been meaning to read Hornby’s essays for years. I have one of them on my shelf–maybe Shakespeare Wrote For Money. I really need to pull it off and read it! Glad you enjoyed More Baths, Less Talking.

    1. You know, I’ve totally forgotten that Hornby still writes…he’s been off my radar for yonks. Which is a shame as I had ‘Hornbyitis’ in my teenage years, flying through the classics (High Fidelity, About a Boy, Fever Pitch). Oh…he wrote the screenplay to An Education…meh.

Leave a Reply

