Sunday Salon

sunday salonGood morning. For those who celebrate, happy Easter. I’m starting to think my kids are mistaking Easter for Christmas. Every Easter morning, they wake up and run into the living room to see what’s in their baskets. This is why I’ve been up since five this morning with them. At least I have coffee and books to keep me up.

Kate’s Easter Read-a-thon is still going strong. So far, I’ve finished Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell and a handful of children’s books:

  • Cheetah Can’t Lose by Bob Shea
  • Fireboy to the Rescue by Edward Miller
  • Stella, Princess of the Sky by Marie-Louise Gay
  • Because Amelia Smiled by David Ezra Stein

I’ve started listening to Esi Edugyan’s Half-Blood Blues, which was a finalist for the Man Booker Prize. The narrator, Kyle Riley, has this amazing voice that fits well with the story. I’m an hour into the story and I can’t wait to go back to it. I should listen to audio books more often.

I’m also reading Margo Lanagan’s newest book, Yellowcake. I’ve read The Brides of Rollrock Island and several of Lanagan’s short stories. Her writing always places me firmly into the story. In Brides of Rollrock Island, I could smell the sea air and feel all the magic. Now with Yellowcake, I’m getting the same feeling. I’ve read the first short story, The Point of Roses, which left me re-reading it over and over. If the last few days are any indication of what’s ahead reading-wise, then April will be a great month.

What are you reading today? Any plans for April?

24 thoughts on “Sunday Salon

  1. Happy Easter! We had nice family breakfast this morning, dinner at my sister’s later this afternoon, and then will take my oldest daughter to the train station so she can get back to NYC tonight – it’s been a great weekend :-)

  2. I’ve been meaning to put The Brides of Rollrock Island on reserve at the library for forever. Thank you for reminding me! I also hadn’t heard about Yellowcake, so I will keep that one in mind too. Have a wonderful Easter (and get some rest)

  3. I think Easter HAS gotten a lot like Christmas! But maybe better treats. …different treats, anyway…

    I’ve heard good things about Yellowcake, but I do hate short stories! :–)

    Happy Easter!!!

  4. You got a lot of reading done! My kids used to wake up super early on Easter, too. My husband and I are both sick and have been going to bed before the boys, so I’m glad we didn’t have to stay up to let the Easter Bunny in last night.

  5. Happy Easter! I should have read-a-thonned this weekend since I’ve got more peace and quiet to work with then usual. Oh well, I’ve still finished two books in the last couple days, so that’s good enough for me. I just finished Tara Conklin’s The House Girl and just started The Mapmaker’s War by Ronlyn Domingue today. Hope you’re having a lovely day filled with good reading! =D

  6. This year I escaped doing anything for my daughter’s Easter as we were driving back from vacation. I must admit it was kind of nice not to put together a basket this year :-)

  7. I definitely hope your last few days are a sign of good things to come for April! That’s just too funny that your kiddos had you up at 5:00am! My youngest was going absolutely crazy because his brother and sister just wouldn’t wake up, so we finally had to just go drag them out of bed to get their baskets. :P All I’ve read by Lanagan is Tender Morsels. That book was so special to me, so I can’t for the life of me explain why I haven’t read more by her. I love what you said about how her stories place you firmly within them.

  8. We are finally done with the whole Easter basket thing, thank goodness. Ash decided this year that she’s “too old” for the Easter bunny. Phew!

  9. I’s Monday and I’m hoping to finish my final book for the read-a-thon tonight. Glad your reading is going well, too! Hope you had a good easter, even if it was a little early in the day on Sunday!

  10. I had my hands full with lunch prep and an Easter egg hunt yesterday, but I’m glad you got to enjoy time with the kiddos and some reading! I really need to get on the ball and read some of Lanagan’s work.

  11. I hope you get a lot done! It’s been a long time since I did a readathon of any kind – so I hope I’ll get to do one soon – maybe Dewey’s readathon will be perfect.

  12. We make a New Beginnings weekend celebration of the Easter thing, so yes, hidden chocolates and goodies to be discovered, and fresh dresses/duds, which makes for good fun, but I wish that I’d spotted the plan for the readathon in advance. Great stuff!

    I’m very curious about the narrator for H-B Blues, because I thought Syd’s voice on paper was awesome! And I haven’t read any Lanagan yet…but I just picked up two at the library on Friday…you’d’ve thought I was getting ready for a r-a-t, but no, just the usual kinds of bookish goodies on hold.

    Hope your April has lots of delicious (if not out-and-out chocolate-y) reading in store for you and your egg-hunters!

Comments are closed.