Weekend Plans

tbr readathonVertigo is kicking my butt so I’m taking a small blogging break until next week. While I’m away, I’m joining the Take Control Read-a-thon, which is going on right now. The read-a-thon lasts until Monday at midnight. There’s still time to join.

My weekend reading stack includes:

A Map of Time by Felix Palma. The Chunky Book Club discussion has already started and will continue until the end of the month. You can find the discussion here plus there’s a giveaway going on.

A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki. I’m still reading and enjoying this.

Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones for DWJ month. jones howl

Possession by A.S. Byatt. I’m hoping to catch up with the read-a-long that’s going on with Lu and Kim.

What are you reading this weekend?

First Update: Sunday night

My vertigo is winding down so I’ve been reading and ignoring homework as much as I can.  So far I’ve finished:

1. Home by Novogratz (3 out of 5 stars)

2. Fables 17: Inherit the Wind by Bill Willingham (5 out of 5 stars)

3. Lemonade in Winter by Emily Jenkins (kids’ book, 4 out of 5 stars)

4. A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki (5 out of 5 stars)

5. A Thousand Mornings: Poems by Mary Oliver (3 1/2 out of 5 stars)

Not bad. I think my next read will be The Garden of Evening Mists by Tan Twan Eng. It just won the Man Asian Literary Prize. It’s either that or re-reading Relish, a foodie graphic memoir by Lucy Knisley.

15 thoughts on “Weekend Plans

  1. Hope you enjoy your weekend and get lots of reading done!!! I may have to look into the Take Control Read-a-Thon…goodness knows my reading has been mighty slow this month, so this could be the boost I need. :)

  2. Have a great read-a-thon! I’m so curious about the Ozeki, can’t wait to hear what you think of it!

  3. Vertigo isn’t fun and I hope your reading plans come to fruition. I don’t have Howl’s Moving Castle but have heard good things. I really should put it on my “to buy” list. Good luck this weekend and please take care of yourself.

  4. I kept checking in on blogs instead of reading and went to a movie on Sunday, so I didn’t reach my read-a-thon goals, or even come close! But it did get me to focus on one book I had gotten bogged down in, and I am enjoying it again now.

  5. I checked out Howl’s MOving Castle and I’m so very excited! And to continue with Possession…
    Hope you feel stable and grounded and… what IS the opposite of dizzy? Vertigo sucks.

Leave a Reply

