Sunday Salon

sunday salonGood morning! The sun isn’t out yet and most of the kids are still asleep. Paradise! While the house is still nice and quiet, I thought it would be a good time to write a post. Did you remember to change your clocks forward an hour? I didn’t but luckily most of the clocks did it on their own.

Remember that huge pile of books that I wanted to read from last week? Luckily, Iozeki was able to read one book from that list, Shirley Jackson’s Life Among the Savages. It was a good read but one that I didn’t finish. Now I’m in the middle of a number of books including A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki. It’s the tale of a young girl who’s writing down the life of her 104 year-old grandmother but also ends up writing about her own life too. There’s something about this book that is really special. I’m 80 pages in but I think I may have to re-read it before reviewing it.

Today is packed with things for me to do. This morning I’m curling up with A Tale for the Time Being. After that, I need to finish my homework and work on my homeschooling plan for the week. Spring is just around the corner and the kids have already picked out which seeds they want to grow (carrots and beans). I guess some seed-shopping is going on online today too.

Just a reminder, the Chunky Book Club’s discussion of The Map of Time starts this Friday and will continue for the rest of the month.

How’s your weekend going? Ever had a book that you needed to re-read before you wrote a post about it?

29 thoughts on “Sunday Salon

  1. I woke up at what I thought was 4:30…and realized it was actually 5:30. So I stayed up and rushed around changing my vast collection of battery operated clocks…lol

    A Tale for the Time Being sounds like one I’d enjoy. Thanks for sharing.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

  2. The Ozeki sounds fascinating. I re-read Gaiman and Pratchett’s Good Omens (for the fifth time) before finally writing a post about it, and honestly I am still not happy with the review. :)

  3. I reread sections of books, but usually not whole books in order to write about them. An old habit — I lstart with impressions but need to go to text for evidence of whatever point I am discovering. It takes a lot longer, but I write as much for myself — to figure out what I think and feel about a book as I do for others. The more complex the book, the better, and the longer I linger with it. If I listen to a book,I do not do a full response.

  4. A Tale for the Time Being sounds like a good read. Your Sunday morning sounds delightful. I’ve got homeschool planning to do today, too, but won’t be getting to it until tonight. A few weeks ago I decided to devote a bit of time every evening to homeschool stuff, and it’s been working out really well. I actually don’t have a lot of fiction on the go right now, which feels very strange!

  5. I’m not part of the Chunky Book Club challenge, but I just ran out of audiobooks on my iPod and I’ll make The Map of Time my next listen, so I can listen in on the discussion.

  6. Seed shopping sounds like fun. I spent some time out in the garden today and was so happy to see the flowers starting to come out, make some plans for a some changes (what needs to go and what to put in its place).

  7. I started reading A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki and I had to stop. I connected to it in such a unique way, I felt the need to hold a paper copy to put stickers and notes in the margins as I read. I’ll have to get a copy of it, for sure. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it!

  8. I also got A Tale for the Time Being, and I can’t wait to read it. When it arrived, I was so struck by the cover, but I admit that my reading time is not what it used to be, and so I haven’t had the time to get into it yet. I am looking forward to it, and to hearing your thoughts on it as well!!

  9. I’ve loved both of Ozeki’s other novels, so I’m really excited about this one (but don’ have a copy of it yet). Glad to hear that you are enjoying it THAT much.

    The book that I most recently read that I knew I would have to re-read before even thinking about it much was Edem Awumey’s Dirty Feet (which was actually quite slim, but a complicated novel)…and I still want to re-read Carrie Snyder’s The Juliet Stories because I’d like to examine it more carefully when not so caught up in all the things that I loved about it. So I guess it’s a good sign, when you’re already thinking of re-reading when you’re still reading for the first time!

  10. It felt so strange waking up yesterday morning and Elle still being asleep. Usually she’s hanging out in her crib by the time I roll over to check the time.

    I LOVE the sound of A Tale for the Time Being. I don’t think I’ve heard of it before but I love how you describe it as something special about it. Hope it’s a great week for you Natasha!

  11. Yay, yay, I’m excited you’re liking A Tale for the Time Being. I read an excerpt of it that NetGalley provided — even though it was a pretty short excerpt, I also felt like the book was something special.

Comments are closed.