Sunday Salon: Looking back at February and March Reading Plans

sunday salonMarch is here and there’s so much I want to do. I’m joining several read-alongs and events including the #Estellagram bookish photo-a-day challenge. I’m new to Instagram and I have to admit I can see why it’s a little addicting. Below is my first picture for the challenge.

estellagram 1
Day 1: bookshelves

In February I read 15 books. That’s not a bad total but most were children’s books. Quiet by Susan Cain was my favorite book of February. You can find my review here. I’m hoping to read more this month.  Way more so below is what my bookstack for March looks like (thanks to Laura for letting me use her bookstack idea).

 march unread

Pictured:

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett. I try to read this book every spring.

Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

Possession by A.S. Byatt

The Unchangeable Spots of Leopards by Kristopher Jansma (ARC)

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki (ARC)

The Round House by Louise Erdrich

The Joy of X: A Guided Tour of Math, from One to Infinity by Steven Strogatz (I’m teaching myself math so I think reading this will help motivate me to do math everyday.)

Far From the Tree by Andrew Solomon (I started reading this in December before being tempted by smaller books. The writing is lovely though.)

Soundings: The Story of the Remarkable Woman Who Mapped the Ocean Floor by Hali Felt. I’ve wanted to read this book for months now. I was finally able to get my hands on it.

nickersonNot pictured:

Life Among the Savages by Shirley Jackson. I’m almost finished with this.

Head Off & Split: Poems by Nikky Finney. I bought this book years ago when it won the National Book Award for Poetry. I’m trying to read a poem a day. That way, I’ll finish the book in no time.

Reflections on the Magic of Writing by Diana Wynne Jones.

Strands of Bronze and Gold: The Bluebeard Fairy Tale Retold by Jane Nickerson. (ARC)

Yes, I know. My bookstack this month is crazy but I think it’s possible for me to read 3-4 books a week. We’ll see.

If you’re still trying to figure out which bookish events you want to join in March, here’s my round-up post.

So what are your plans for March? What are you reading?

21 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: Looking back at February and March Reading Plans

  1. Yay, what an awesome stack of books for March! I’d meant to reread The Secret Garden last month, but never got to it. It’s the perfect book for spring, though, you’re right!

    Also why does everyone but me own copies of Howl’s Moving Castle? What is WRONG with me dgjdksfdjghkaslk

  2. I’m actually doing two challenges this month on Instagram…that’s how addicted I am. The one is the one you’re doing and the other is the Photo A Day one. So far, so good, but hey, it’s only Day 3. :)

  3. There are a lot of books coming out this month. February was a wash for me in the reading department. I think the only book I finished was The Green Rust.

  4. WOW! That is so impressive. I think this is my first time planning out my reading list for a the month. I see everyone doing it so I thought I would give it a try. Right now it looks like I am going to do two audiobooks. The Fault of Our Stars and My Beloved World. Then I will finish Silver Sparrow, Sway, and read Angelology. If I have time I will read Swim by Jennifer Weiner too.

    1. Good luck with planning your March reads. I hope it works out. I need to get a copy of My Beloved World soon. I heard that it’s really good. Happy reading.

  5. Oh I just want to give you a huge hug right now! I made March my food and gardening theme month, but I just couldn’t think of any fiction reads to throw in the pile. The Secret Garden would be perfect–and let’s face it, it’s about time I read it anyway!

  6. That’s an ambitious reading plan! Good luck. Even if you don’t finish all of them, you’ve got some terrific titles there. And thank you for the reminder; I should probably re-read The Secret Garden this spring. It’s been almost 10 years since I read it to my daughter.

    Please stop by my Sunday Post/Salon (even though it’s now Monday!)

  7. I really really wanted to do the challenge but haven’t started yet. I think I might spend tomorrow doing catchup photos! How are you liking Reflections? I really enjoyed that book and feel motivated to read all of DWJ’s works now.

Comments are closed.