March Bookish Events

I’m starting to think March is a book blogger’s January, filled with tbr to-do lists, read-alongs, and events. It’s like everyone decided that January wasn’t good enough so they’re cramming as many things into March as possible since February was so short. Yesterday, I looked around the blogisphere and found some really interesting events going on, so I thought I’ll share them with you all.

miller mThe lovely Care is hosting a read-along of Madeline Miller’s The Song of Achilles that’s going on right now.  This is a really great book to read so if it’s on your reading list, why not join in? I think the read-along is going on all month though Care’s final post will be up March 15th. The Twitter hashtag is #achillesong

Care also told the rest of us about the read-along that’sbyatt going to start of Possession by A.S. Byatt that’s being hosted by Kim (Sophisticated Dorkiness) and Lu (Regular Rumination). The official post is here. On March 11th there will be a check-in of chapters 1-6. I’ve always been intimidated by Possession for years but recently bought a copy so I’m in. The read-along Twitter’s hashtag: #readByatt

Heather and Andi, the lovely ladies behind Estella’s Society are hosting a bookish photo-a-day challenge. The challenge will be going on on Instagram though several bloggers, including myself, will be posting on our blogs and other platforms. Hashtag #estellagram

palmaLooking for a chunkster to pick up? Then you’re in luck. The Chunkster Challenge’s Chunky Book Club is hosting its first group read of the year with The Map of Time by Felix Palma. Discussions on the book will start on March 15th and continue through the rest of the month. Remember: you don’t have to be a challenge participant and you can read the chunkster in any format you want.

sotomayer

My Beloved World by Sonia Sotomayer is a book that I’ve been reading nothing but positive things about so I was happy to see that it’s this month’s book pick for the Mocha Girls Read Book Club.

Is your TBR stack getting out of control? (Of course it is.) Kimba over at Caffeinated Book Reviewer is hosting a month-long TBR Read-a-thon. If reading strictly from your tbr pile for a whole month is too much, Kimba is also hosting a TBR Pile Read-a-thon from March 15th – 18th. #takecontrol

jones howlSince it’s March that means Kristen’s back with Diana Wynne Jones Month, a celebration of the late author and her influential work. There will be giveaways, guest posts, and read-alongs of Howl’s Moving Castle and A Tale of Time City.  I’m giving away a DWJ book this month so stay tuned. #dwjmarch

Last but not least, Rebecca (Lost in Books) is celebrating Women’s History Month with guest posts and book reviews.

Whew! That was a lot! Are you joining any read-alongs or bookish events this month?

My edition from Penguin Threads
My edition from Penguin Threads

Edit: I can’t believe I forgot about this read-along even though I signed up for it! Jill (FizzyThoughts) is hosting a read-along of Louisa May Alcott’s classic Little Women. #Marchon

21 thoughts on “March Bookish Events

  1. I think I am going to join the Little Women readalong, with Jill, but there are so many out there that I am not joining that I feel like a slacker! I am going to have to think about some of these. Thanks for gathering them up here!

    1. Thanks for reminding me about The Little Women read-along! And I actually signed up for that one! Don’t feel like a slacker about not joining. There’s only so much time to read so many books.

  2. Holy smokes, there are a lot of things going on in March! I’m trying so hard to stay away from challenges and such…it’s not easy!!

  3. Thanks for the DWJ March mention! It’s going to be an awesome event. Sadly, it means I don’t get to participate in anything else really (except the #estellagram challenge because pictures are easy). Hopefully April ends up being a big readalong month too so that I can join in. I already know Carl is doing Stardust. Yay!

  4. Thanks for mentioning our Possession readalong. I’m intimidated by the book, necessarily, I just can’t figure out why I’ve started and quit it so many times. I’m hoping peer pressure will help me get into it and even enjoy it :)

    1. Kim, I’m intimidated by the book too. Hosting a read-along for Possession is a great idea. I hope you finish it this time. :-)

  5. So many great events it’s hard to decide which to take part in! I started doing the Estella photo a day thing, so hopefully I’ll be able to stick with that. Now I have to decide if I might like to read Possession or some DWJ this month. I wish I was better at readalongs…I kinda have the feeling that whichever one I choose I will fail at it, because that’s my MO for readalongs. Nonetheless, I think I should pick one to try!

  6. DWJ MARCH HOORAY. I’m excited for the Howl’s Moving Castle readalong. I haven’t read it in a while and am greatly looking forward to revisiting it.

  7. Wow. Somehow I missed all of Care’s readalongs and everything else that is going on this month. I did know about Fizzy Jill’s #marmeeon and the Estella Society’s photo a day challenge though and am having fun taking bookish pictures.

    Good luck with everything this month!

  8. That’s a lot of challenges and read-alongs! I had already joined Kimba’s TBR Read-a-thon (and wow, do I need it! My TBR list has gotten way out of hand.) A lot of the others look like fun, but I think I’d better not bite off more than I can chew — though I plan to take a look at the DWJ read-alongs. It’s probably time to re-read Howl.

Comments are closed.