Sunday Salon

sunday salonGood morning! Breakfast has been made and now I finally have time to write a post. Last week was been a whirlwind. It seems like there was so much to do and just not enough time. Between homeschooling, studying for classes (biopsychology and library cataloging), and taking care of the house, I need all the extra time I can find.

Last week I didn’t finish a single adult book. I’m almost looking back at that in rhodes harlemdisbelief. Not one book? I’m still reading the same books that I’ve been reading for the past 2-3 weeks: Far From the Tree by Andrew Solomon, Harlem is Nowhere by Sharifa Rhodes-Pitts, and Quiet by Susan Cain. I’m going to try my best to finish at least Harlem is Nowhere and Quiet this week.

Just in case you forgot, next Monday my read-in discussion of Silver Sparrow by Tayari Jones starts. The discussion will go on all week. There’s still time to get a copy and start reading. Silver Sparrow is a page-turner, so you can finish it in a few days.

The March selection for the Chunkster Challenge’s Chunky Book Club is Felix J. Palma’s The Map of Time. This book has been on my reading list since its publication. The discussion starts March 15th and will go on for the rest of the month.

I’m off. I still have some homework to get through before going to the bookstore later on today. It’s a $1 bookstore so let’s hope I don’t buy my weight in books.  What are you reading today?

27 thoughts on “Sunday Salon

  1. I feel a similar frustration, as though I’m moving through clear gelatin. I checked out a ‘fluff’ book by Penny Vincenzi from the library, and it’s taken me two weeks to read! I forced myself to finish last night, and while I enjoyed it, I still can’t figure out why I was turning the pages in what felt like slow motion.

    I did, however, get the Origami Yoda off to you. Hope he arrives safely! :)

  2. Both of the books you’ve been reading sound very interesting. I always read non-fiction at a slower pace than fiction books, there’s just more information to sink in and to think about?
    $1 book shopping? Wow, the Dutch second hand bookstores never sell books at such a low price. I hope you’ll find a few gems :)

    I’m going to tuck myself in on the couch and read Peter Straub’s In the Night Room.

  3. My reading has been very slow lately too, I just can’t seem to find the time, and if I do I can’t seem to sit still for long because I’ll remember something else that needs to be done. A dollar book sale?! That sounds wonderful :) Happy Sunday.

  4. I’m always a slow reader, so it’s not that unusual for me to go a week without finishing a book. That fact only makes me sad, oh, most of the time. ;-) I’ve been doing a decent job at reading at a decent pace (for me) this year so far, so I guess I can’t complain. I’ve been reading a book that Random.org/LibraryThing helped me rescue from TBR purgatory, The Grave of God’s Daughter by Brett Ellen Block. I’m a little over halfway through and am really enjoying it. Score another point for Random.org!

    Hope you find some treasures at the bookstore, and have a great week!

  5. I wish I had a $1 bookstore! That sounds awesome! I’ve put my reading on pause for the day while I make a list of books to get at the library for this week. I have, alas, got jury duty. I want to have plenty of reading material in case it goes on for a while.

  6. You sound like me, lol…I haven’t finished a novel in I don’t even know how long! But I am almost finished the audio of Quiet and really enjoying that!! Hope you enjoy your Biopsyc class!!! I LOVED Biopsyc and Neuropsyc…I think they were my two favorite psychology undergrad classes but then again I was a psyc major :p

  7. I want to read Harlem is Nowhere now. Another book for my list!

    I’m looking forward to the Silver Sparrow discussion.

    I’m still debating reading The Map of Time–my library doesn’t have it, and I’ve been trying to budget my book buying. We’ll see.

    1. I know, Heather! I just happened to stumble on an old review of Harlem is Nowhere. Otherwise, I wouldn’t even know the book existed. I can’t wait for next week’s discussion on Silver Sparrow; it’s such a juicy book. I’m debating on The Map of Time too. My library doesn’t have it either.

  8. I have no idea how you homeschool and go to your own classes and do ALL THE THINGS that you do. *sits in awe*

    I hope you enjoy Silver Sparrow! I don’t have a copy of it, but I thought about picking my own book for the Read-In as I was passing The Known World on my shelves last night.

    I have a book club book to whip through by next Thursday so we’ll see if I have time and motivation to make it to picking up a new book for Read-In.

  9. I didn’t realize that you homeschooled your kiddos. Count me in awe with the others… And Silver Sparrow! I look forward to seeing how everyone likes it. I just picked up a copy but won’t be able to read along with you guys at this time.

  10. I’ve been meaning to read Silver Sparrow but it looks like the e-book copy is currently on loan! I’ve put a hold on it so erm, we’ll see what happens!

  11. I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on Harlem. I read a little of it before, liked it but couldn’t finish it. I need to get back to it some time.

  12. Sounds like you’ve been busy. School always takes over any spare reading time I have. I’ll be interested to hear what you think of Quiet. I just read a really great review of it today.

Comments are closed.