Looking forward to . . .February

January, with its sense of renewal, could be looked at as a boom or a bust for me. Forgive me for making this a list post, but I’m too drained at the moment to write actual paragraphs.

Highlights of January

  • I got into a rhythm with homeschooling.
  • I read a record amount of books in one month (34).
  • My favorite books of the month were The Procrastination Equation by Piers Steel (adult non-fiction) and We March by Shane W. Evans (children’s book).
  • Participating in Joy’s New Year Resolutions Challenge.

Low Points of January

  • Being diagnosed with vertigo (an inner ear condition), and spending most of the month dizzy, tired, or both.
  • I failed the TBR Double Dare. I only read one book from my tbr pile and it was one that I just bought.
  • January Cure was a bust. I did realize what I want to do with my apartment now though.

LetterMo2013square-300x300Well enough of January. February is here and there’s so much to look forward to including:

  • LetterMo is here! Letter Mo is a yearly event held in February where participants write letters to friends, family, and even strangers, every day. Care, I’m looking at you. If you want a postcard or short letter from me this me, just email me at 1330v blog AT gmail DOT com.
  • The new semester starts tomorrow. I have early access to one of my classes so I’ve already started working on my assignments.
  • I plan to keep working on my New Year’s resolutions like buying new furniture for my apartment.
  • Reading! I have a fantastic stack of books to read from this month including Yellowcake by Margo Lanagan, The Death of Bees by Lisa O’Donnell, and a few non-fiction reads.
  • The Quiet Read-along by Joy. Feel free to join in.
  • Of course, my own book discussion of Silver Sparrow by Tayari Jones, which starts on the 25th.

What are you looking forward to this month?

29 thoughts on “Looking forward to . . .February

  1. I’m so sorry to hear that you’ve been diagnosed with vertigo. I’ve struggled with it off and on for years and it’s no fun at all. I have learned ways to cope, though, and hope you do as well.

  2. I didn’t realize you homeschooled. Finding that rhythm is truly one of the most awesome things in the world, isn’t it?
    Sorry to hear about the vertigo. Sounds awful. :(

  3. My birthday is in the middle of the month, so I am looking forward to that, but other than that, I am looking forward to taking it easy and getting my reading back under control. I hadn’t been doing all that well, but am hoping that I begin to pick up speed at this point!

  4. Way to go on reading so many books, that is awesome! I’m sorry to hear about the vertigo though, that cannot be fun at all :( Here’s to February and hoping that it is nothing but GREAT :)

  5. Hope your February is great. How do you find the time for school, homeschooling and reading? At what age does my kid have to be so I can get more reading in. Definitely not 2. :)

  6. Cheers to February!!! So sorry to hear about the vertigo. I hope it improves, and SOON! I’m looking forward to hammering away at some more books, and I’m gonna keep up the January Curing into February! Woot!

  7. sorry to hear about your vetrgo. i hope it improves soon. I am looking forward to geeting back on wellbutrain when i was on it before i read 5 or more books a week with what i am on now i am lucky to read one book a week. So hope this helps.

  8. I’m sorry to hear you haven’t been well. I’ve experienced the inner ear issues and vertigo and I know it is MISERABLE. I’ll be praying for you.

  9. I didn’t realize you were diagnosed with vertigo. :( I hope it doesn’t interfere with what you like/need to do too much.

    I’m looking forward to Valentine’s Day because it’s my favorite holiday.

  10. How did I not know you homeschool too?! Or maybe I forgot? So glad you’ve found a rhythm that’s working for you. Ours is always evolving, but usually in a good way.
    I hope your vertigo eases up soon. That is a real drag.

  11. I have vertigo too (self-diagnosis). I’m not sure if there’s anything a doctor will do on that. It’s quite annoying when I get into a spell. I hope you feel better soon!

    1. Aths, there’s medication you can take for vertigo. What I’m currently on leaves me really tired sometimes but most of the time I’m not as dizzy as I used to be. I think it”ll probably be worth it to go to a doctor for meds.

  12. You looking at me? ;) I will try to squeeze Silver Sparrow into my travel bag for school vacation. Have fun with lettermo and hope the vertigo is gentle with you. gentle may not be right word? Mild? Trying to be positive for you and thinking good thoughts cuz you are so awesome.

  13. So odd you’d think I was making this up, but I had vertigo all last year. It hasn’t troubled me for several weeks now, so I hope it dissipates for you, too.

  14. I’m sorry about the vertigo! That sounds really hard to deal with. I always joke about having zero sense of balance, but yours sounds much worse :-( Does it get better or is it just something you have to deal with?

  15. I’m also sorry about the vertigo! I can’t imagine how frustrating that must be. I’m sorry it’s left you so tired. I hope your February has been better and wonderful!

Leave a Reply

